Weird XP Pro question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2007, 09:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 95
Question Weird XP Pro question

This should be a real simple question. I have a couple old discs of XP Pro I bought about 4-5 years ago. I used the discs to install to some machines in my office over the years. I have used the same discs multiple times to either reinstall, or install on a different machine. basically the discs have been interchanged between systems once i reformatted/reinstalled windows etc.

After i re-use a windows XP cd, I Activate windows and it always seems to work fine. I thought that each copy of XP was just a one time activation and thats it, you cant reinstall or install on another computer? It seems im able to install and activate it all the time?

Can someone explain the strange Microsoft ways of doing this? Thanks in advance!
__________________

mobkon is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Weird XP Pro question

It might be that the discs are an open license? You would probably know it if it was though.
__________________

motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 09:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Weird XP Pro question

are they OEM or VLK?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 09:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 95
Default Re: Weird XP Pro question

I bought them both from Staples, one about 4 years ago, then the other about 5 or so.
mobkon is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 09:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Weird XP Pro question

are you registered with MS?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 09:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 95
Default Re: Weird XP Pro question

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
are you registered with MS?

Hmm, I dont beleive so. How could I tell? I dont ever remember registering, and I have never called MS for support...
mobkon is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 09:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Weird XP Pro question

then your just lucky i guess
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 10:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Weird XP Pro question

Are you using the same Product Key over and over again?

What about the machines in your office. Are they like identical machines as for the hardware specs? If that's the case that'd be the way you're passing activation multiple times more than likely.
reubix is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 11:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Weird XP Pro question

it works if you let time pass between activations. I've done it too. I've put one copy of xp on 4-5 machines in a 4 year period
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 01:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
djmaddogfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to djmaddogfreak
Default Re: Weird XP Pro question

Between putting time between the activations, plus having identical machines, that's how you get around the whole 2-3 time actvation. Hardware changes become an issue. If you change enough hardware, it won't let you activate.
__________________

__________________
System Specs:
ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Mobo
AMD X2 64 bit 4600+ O.C. 15%(from 2.40 GHz to 2.65 GHZ)
4X1GB Crucial Ballistic Tracer O.C. to 880 MHz @ 4-4-4-12
2 - 500 Gig Seagate 7200 RPM HDDs
2 - 160 GB WD 7200 RPM HDD in RAID 0
NVidia GeForce 8800 GT with 512 megs of RAM
Liquid Cooled Processor
Windows Vista Ultimate 64
My Business
djmaddogfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM
weird problem...virus? or failing hdd bmxfreakrider Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-19-2007 08:49 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM
weird 56K/phone line problem bnuk013 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-18-2007 03:44 PM
Really Weird Power Boot Problem i_am_a_robot Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-10-2007 08:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.