webcam/security question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2005, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default webcam/security question

Ok, here's whats up....Someone had been coming into my office(possibly using a key) and taking things off of and out of my desk. This is not a joke being played on me due to the objects and papers being taken. My company has no security camers, buti have a webcam for online meetings. My webcam has a program with it that i can record anything for any period of time. My question is, is there a program or a series of key strokes that i can use so that i can set my webcam to record, but the program is not seen on my desktop until i enter the key strokes or a password? I need to find a way to get this done, i've lost everything from small items such as food all the way up to confidential papers....thanks
oh and i'm running Windows XP.
__________________

hdansjr is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to VICone Send a message via Yahoo to VICone
Default

My webcam has something called security where I turn it on and it waits until something happens and starts taking pictures of every moving thing.
__________________

__________________
MCSA, MCP (070-210, 070-218, 070-215), A+, Network+, Security+<br>
<a href=\"http://profiles.myspace.com/users/17229411\" target=\"_blank\">MySpace</a> | <a href=\"http://mcmcse.com\" target=\"_blank\">MCMCSE</a> | <a href=\"http://brainbench.com\" target=\"_blank\">Brainbench : Free Certifications</a>
VICone is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 10:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

i"ve checked all the setting that is on the program itself and it doesn't have a security one. I had a friend a while ago who could play hit a few keys on his board and whatever was running on the computer "dissapeared" until he hit them again. He kept his webcam in his cubicle like that and caught someone stealing. he's been transfered to Cal and i've lost all info on him so i can't get in touch with him. Any help will be greatly appreciated!
hdansjr is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 11:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to VICone Send a message via Yahoo to VICone
Default

Search download.com for some webcam software
__________________
MCSA, MCP (070-210, 070-218, 070-215), A+, Network+, Security+<br>
<a href=\"http://profiles.myspace.com/users/17229411\" target=\"_blank\">MySpace</a> | <a href=\"http://mcmcse.com\" target=\"_blank\">MCMCSE</a> | <a href=\"http://brainbench.com\" target=\"_blank\">Brainbench : Free Certifications</a>
VICone is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 05:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

I actually downloaded winstealth, and ran it while i was out for my break at 2....guess who it was...the damn janitor....WHO WAS ON PROBATION for stealing before! After i informed my manager and showed him the video, he called this guy's p.o. and he's in trouble....oh well, take stuff from me, i'll get ya! Thanks for the info.
hdansjr is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 07:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rollincatera Send a message via Yahoo to rollincatera
Default

haha...awesome. way to go
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
rollincatera is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 07:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rollincatera Send a message via Yahoo to rollincatera
Default

so does the software work good? is it work the 20bucks?
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
rollincatera is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

I got winstealth from download.com and i didnt' have to pay 20...i didn't even see that i had too....oh well
__________________

hdansjr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.