webcam problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2006, 06:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 240
Default webcam problems

I have a 3com homeconnect webcam,
I have installed the latest drivers from it and made sure its conencted properly, but when I try to use it on msn I get the message:
"
You have invited Jade - You've got my heart in a headlock to start viewing webcam. Please wait for a response or cancel (Alt+Q) the pending invitation.

Your conversation cannot begin because your camera is currently in use or not plugged in. Make sure your camera is available and try again.

You have canceled your invitation to start viewing webcam.
"

I know the webcam itself works because I used to get this message before, but someone fixed it. but I cant remember how. any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Cure for Boredom
bigbmxdave is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 07:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

1. try another USB port.

2. make sure no pins are bent in the USB port in the webcam/computer.

3. Make sure you have the CORRECT drivers for your OS.

4. I didnt know 3COM made webcams...maybe thats why it doesnt work...
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 07:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 240
Default

1. ive tried all 4 usb ports.
2. pins are fine for all 4 ports and the webcam usb
3. drivers are correct and up to date from the website
4. 3com make webcams, I have one here as proof.
__________________
Cure for Boredom
bigbmxdave is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 07:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i checked their website, and the webcam is not supported under windows xp. It is only supported in windows 98 and 2000.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 07:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 240
Default

its worked on Xp before. im just wondering if any of you know how I did it last time? because ive forgot.
__________________
Cure for Boredom
bigbmxdave is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 08:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

were you using service pack 1 before?

maybe service pack 2 has made your webcam messed up.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.