Web server through router not working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2005, 07:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Default Web server through router not working

Alright, so I assume that the default port to use for any HTML based web server is port80.

I tested the server with a hard connection straight to my modem. I can access my webpage with my assigned IP from the isp.

So I turn on my router. I have fowarded port 80 in both TCP and UDP in my router firmware.

The software I am using is abyss web server, and it is configured to listen on port 80.

when I put "http://localhost" into my browser, it will give me my webpage. When I put in my ip address, which should be my webpage, instead, it shows the page to my router.

Is this normal because I am trying to access the web page on the host machine that is behind the router? ( I have not tried to access the webpage from anywhere else.)

here is the webpage: http//www.beefbowl.cjb.net
__________________

__________________
[root@root root]$ su
uchiha is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 08:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

www.whatismyip.com

Go to www.proxify.com and enter your ip like this: http://124.152.32.46

Should work.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 08:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Default

thats a nice idea major, but doesn't seem to work for me. I am still getting my router's firmware page with my ip and even my domain name. can someone try to access it? thanks

IP:
http://70.23.50.234 (http://70.23.50.234:80)
Domain:
http://beefbowl.cjb.net
__________________
[root@root root]$ su
uchiha is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 08:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

none works
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 10:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

If you can only see your routers firmware page when you try to view your web page when looking from a computer not on your local network, then maybe you have got the router set up so that it can be configured over a WAN. You can probably turn this off in the router settings. Not sure if this is the answer, but it's all I can think of.
m3trj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.