Web as desktop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2004, 06:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16
Default Web as desktop

I've recently come to the idea of having a website fixed in my desktop.
I know in Display > Desktop > Customize desktop lets you set a *page* as your background, but whenever you click a link it opens in IE.

I'd like to set it that the links open in the "desktop" window. Is this possible?

Zooropa is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 06:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 16

Ouch, I don't think that is possible... I have never seen anything of the sort. Closest thing I have seen is the google miniviewer. Unfortunately. Anyone else have any ideas?

Helium is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 07:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

win98/ ME have active desktop. winXP has:

To add Web content to your desktop
Right-click a blank area on the desktop, and then click Properties.
On the Desktop tab, click Customize Desktop.
On the Web tab, click New, and then follow the instructions on your screen.

You must be connected to the Internet to add active Web content to your desktop.
To browse Microsoft's Desktop Gallery Web site, in the New Desktop Item Wizard, click Visit Gallery. The New Desktop Item Wizard opens when you click New on the Web tab.
To select a different Web site, type the Web site address, or click Browse to locate it.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 04:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16

Being in work, I'm unable to test that right now, but it sounds exactly like what I did.

This works, and the page sits on the desktop, but it doesn't function like a broswer. Links open in new IE windows.

I'm looking for it to open the links in the desktop instance of the website.

(The website I'm using is www.aletnativenation.net/forum, and is very similar to this in format style (its VB).)
Zooropa is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 08:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie

sry I son't think that you can open pages in the "desktop window"

Zooropa> your link seems to be broken
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.