Warning! CPU has changed! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2008, 06:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default Warning! CPU has changed!

One day, I boot up my pc, and I have been getting this message 'Warning! CPU has changed! Please save CMOS settings...or something like that...' on almost every boot up. I have been saving the CMOS settings and resetting the internal clock every boot up since then, to no effect.

My system is an ACER T3100

I have changed my 2 RAM cards to DDR kingston 512 mb, and that was years ago.

Please help, what could be the problem? Or what can I do myself to troubleshoot the cause?
__________________

alloy13 is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 06:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Warning! CPU has changed!

CMOS battery is dying

Do you know how to change that?

or bad mobo
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 04:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Warning! CPU has changed!

no idea

pls advise

which one is the cmos battery, and how do i replace it?

what is the average price for that?

any compatibility issues for batt and motherboard?

your help is greatly appreciated
thks
alloy13 is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 06:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Warning! CPU has changed!

It is just a lithium 3v battery, one of the round ones not sure of the exact spec number
Nick is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 06:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8
Send a message via Yahoo to parabola
Exclamation Re: Warning! CPU has changed!

Yeah, it does in fact sound like your battery. They will only last 3 years or so. Go to your manufacturer specs/manual. It's an easy fix once you take the panel off of your box. Google around a bit for some "how to's" You can do it man!
parabola is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 07:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Warning! CPU has changed!

Quote:
Originally Posted by parabola View Post
Yeah, it does in fact sound like your battery. They will only last 3 years or so. Go to your manufacturer specs/manual. It's an easy fix once you take the panel off of your box. Google around a bit for some "how to's" You can do it man!
lol good encouraging talk there all you have to do is remove power cable, remove case cover, remove old battery insert new battery, case cover on, power in, switch on
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Bad MB or CPU? fallow Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-16-2007 06:49 PM
My computer gets to the xp loading screen and restarts. tivaelydoc Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-07-2007 08:26 PM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.