Warez Monster has an issue - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2006, 04:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

The problems with the missing apps on startup, msconfig, regedit, etc almost sound like the initial build of certain portions of the registry aren't being compiled correctly upon boot. However, with the Start Menu missing it's almost as if you have some major problems with some system files.

So, you are using the XP Cd to install, then you are loading NAV, Adaware, etc from another CD? Is this not a problem until you load the 3rd party software?

Bad CD-ROMs in all of the computers is a stretch, very doubtful. But one thing that seems to be a trend is the software that you are using after XP is installed.
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

A corrupted registry can cause this, but he has tried almost a 3 different XP CD and even the manufacture CD. Same problem it seems to be, so what is everyone conclusion at the moment?
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikesgroovin
Bad CD-ROMs in all of the computers is a stretch, very doubtful. But one thing that seems to be a trend is the software that you are using after XP is installed.
I'm running into this problem all of the time. in the past 18 months manufacturers are cutting corners to lower costs on the cd and dvd drives. I've ran into this issue at least 20 times in the past year. swapping the drive will always fix the problem.

the funny thing is...

this is never a problem with old cheap basic cd rom drives.

warez, try wiping the drive with powermax to eliminate a bootsector virus. fdisk or the xp cd won't get it
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

This time I even used the manus cd and serial number which I had to activate. I'm kinda stuck here. I guess the next thing I can do is slipstream all the drivers into a new XP cd and make a copy if there cd and see what happens. But I wont start on this til tomorrow. This is crazy.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I will try a diff cd drive tomorrow morning. I hope thats all it is.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
A corrupted registry can cause this, but he has tried almost a 3 different XP CD and even the manufacture CD. Same problem it seems to be, so what is everyone conclusion at the moment?
Portions of the problem, sure it could. If something is missing in App Paths in HKLM then you will get the same errors. I'm not saying it's the problem because it's happenning after installing the OS. But, i've seen the same thing before when viewing common points of attack with some viruses. They will strip away entries in App Paths just to deter the user from attempting to locate the root of the problem.
With all the other problems going on, it doesn't really seem to be likely, but there again, it's not like there are 20 different possible solutions that we are dealing with here. I don't know.

It's tough to deal with this sort of thing without actually being physically in front of the machine.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:37 PM   #17 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
I'm running into this problem all of the time. in the past 18 months manufacturers are cutting corners to lower costs on the cd and dvd drives. I've ran into this issue at least 20 times in the past year. swapping the drive will always fix the problem.
Oh yea. I'm not doubting the fact that it happens. Absolutely, I've seen it as well. However it just seems a bit of a stretch given that this is the 5th machine in a row. I would be a little surprised if this was the problem...thats all.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:39 PM   #18 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Warez, I'm a little confused. List all of the CDs that you are using at the moment to build these machines up.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:46 PM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikesgroovin
Oh yea. I'm not doubting the fact that it happens. Absolutely, I've seen it as well. However it just seems a bit of a stretch given that this is the 5th machine in a row. I would be a little surprised if this was the problem...thats all.
yeah. i'm thinking that too. I also think that it's possible that windows update put something there to cause this problem

they did this before 3-4 years ago with blacklisted keys and they were exhibited the same symptoms that warez is describing now. strange coincidence that this is the week they started meddling with machines again. that's why I suggest using powermax to wipe the drives clean because windows tools just won't do it (ms did this on purpose). it only takes a minute or so to do
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 05:04 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I didnt put and updates on it the seconds time and it still happened


I used my personal XP cd, the companies, and now HP's cd
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.