Want to know rights of XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2006, 10:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Want to know rights of XP

Intro; I built a LAN rig and used the same copy of XP on the machine as I have on my main rig. This morning, I turn my PC on to find that little star in the corner saying I have a conterfiet copy of XP and to buy a new code. I will not do this, as there is no way I will buy it when I have a legal copy of XP pro already.

Before I call MS, what rights do I have about this? There is no way that they can block the copy of XP for just one user installing on a second machine. Basically I am asking for ammunition that is not over the top, but will sort this out.

I already know how to tell XP to STFU as it would be, but I am not asking this and do not want anyone to say anything that may get this thread locked.

Thanks, Trif.

Also, is there a count down thingy until it will not log on again?
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 12:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: Want to know rights of XP

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
There is no way that they can block the copy of XP for just one user installing on a second machine.
read you eula. you need to buy a separate license for each machine you install with xp.

also, you dont "own" the software. MS sold it to you to use, but they reserve the right to disallow use if you do not follow the terms speicfied in the eula.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 01:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Even more reason to go to Linux really. So I would just be making a fool of myself trying to persuade MS?

Looks like reserve option tbh. How long do I have to until they will block me loging on?
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 03:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

i think they put the alert there as an annoyance. but i bet you wouldn't be able to pass windows genuine advantage using normal practices; this would prevent you from installing some MS updates.
office politics is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 03:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

This is an annoyance though, and IMO unfair that they do this, as I can only be on one PC at a time anyway.

Will my PC be secure for buying things on the internet with out these updates?

Thanks, Trif.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 04:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

good av and firewall will protect you from internet baddies....but not phishing scams.

spyware scans are a good idea too. spybot, adware, etc
office politics is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 04:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Got AVG from when I was exposed to a trojan on a site (didn't get infected ) I am behind a router (even though I have port 80 and 21 forwarded to this PC.) I have neven't done Spybot and adaware but AVG picks up the main ones.

OK, if MS are not going to do anything I will be an early adopter of Vista. Is this fair MS? Still not happy with this though.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 04:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

oh snap, im forgetting automatic updates, which MS will block with windows genuine advantage. these updates fix your OS from known attacks. Your AV may not catch these attacks. Examples Blaster and Sasser.
office politics is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 05:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Hmmm... A Vista Beta 2 is avaliable soon. :/

What the ****, when I have the second PC running I will try the changing the registry thing.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 05:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Rochestor, NY
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by csamuels
oh snap, im forgetting automatic updates, which MS will block with windows genuine advantage. these updates fix your OS from known attacks. Your AV may not catch these attacks. Examples Blaster and Sasser.
Yeah, thats what I hate (the always having to re-download Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool...)
__________________

Jordan Pardy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.