w2k will not shutdown - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2003, 08:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 62
Angry w2k will not shutdown

when i try to shut down it jus hangs .. doeanst go to the saving your settings screen anymore,.. it just sits there and I tried virus scanning and ad aware scanning does anyone know how to fix this or what could be causing the problem?

(CPU) 1-Intel Pentium III (Cu), 680MHz, 256KB (50% Load) .:. (RAM) usage: 210/512MB (41.02%) .:.
(GFX) RADEON 7500, (Display) 1024x768/32bit/60Hz
(OS) Windows 2000 Professional
__________________

__________________
- N4sTy
http://n4sty.sof2files.com
narcot1kz is offline  
Old 12-07-2003, 11:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default

Did you use your system virus scanner ? If so then tty
trend micro
__________________

mobo is offline  
Old 12-07-2003, 04:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

this may not be the best way to diagnose your problem but...your machine is probably hanging trying to end a program or process. open your command prompt and type in msconfig.

once there i would check what is running in services tab and check what is being run at startup. check the box that says hide all microsoft services. from there i would uncheck things and try to reboot to see what happens after changes are made.

if this is a recent problem check what recent software you have installed in add/ remove utility.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-08-2003, 06:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 19
Default

try closing down everything manually before shutdown. i had that problem before on 2k (before i went to linux) and at the time i didnt realize my anti-virus software had a built in firewall in it... and i was also running zonealarm... the two were fighting for control of the ports causing it to hang... your problem could be of this same nature.
repeatloader is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 09:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 62
Default

closing everything as in what ? lol I closed all the program i had open if thats what you mean but it still sits there
__________________
- N4sTy
http://n4sty.sof2files.com
narcot1kz is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 11:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5
Default

I would boot to safe mode and then see if it shuts down OK
If it does then you know it is a driver/program conflict that is causing it to hang (Since Safe Mode only uses minimal drivers)
Next step would be to follow the suggestions here and find the culprit manually
Cheers
t
__________________

Ted Baylis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.