vista or xp for buisness - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2008, 12:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 111
Default vista or xp for buisness

Good day.. i am about to begin a refresh of the computers at my business. I have 50 5 year old Acer p4's that are on their last leg. I am going to replace them in coming months. The question has come up should we go with Vista or Xp Pro on the new machines. Price is not that big an issue it's only about a difference of $100.
Thank you
Howard
__________________

servo.tsc is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 08:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: vista or xp for buisness

Well if you are going with XP get them now. They wont be selling them after June.

As for which you should go with. That is up to you. Just remember going with Vista will also require some training for the staff as it is not XP and will require some training to use correctly.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 05:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 111
Default Re: vista or xp for buisness

Ok sounds like to make my life easiest I should go XP Pro and worry about Vista in a few years.
servo.tsc is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 05:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: vista or xp for buisness

What brand of pc will you get with the xp pro?
Gearjam is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 05:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: vista or xp for buisness

Honestly i think that is the safest bet right now. Espically for a business. Vista is good for a home PC where you take the time to learn it. But in a business enviroment it would be better to stick with what people know.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 09:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 111
Default Re: vista or xp for buisness

I am planning to get HP computers with XP Pro. I will hold off but will ensure they are Vista capable just in case.
__________________

servo.tsc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
Microsoft offers a Vista two-for deal Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 8 01-01-2008 04:17 PM
No More Vista Recuded Functionality Mode. Harper Microsoft Windows and Software 7 12-06-2007 09:53 AM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.