Vista -> XP - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2007, 10:27 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: Vista -> XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by pc_boy View Post
I didn't pay anything for this Vista key, it came with the laptop. It's Home Premium and I hate it because it takes too much system resources. It's got a bunch of useless crap that I will never use, so why let it bog down my crappy X2 tk-53 processor with 1gb of ram? I can't upgrade this because it's a notebook and both memory slots are taken.
I hear ye'...1GB of RAM with Vista is unusable. I disabled everything - all animations, lowered the res, disabled aereo nonsense etc...but it made no difference.

Then I bought a pair of gigs from Newegg... 2* 1GB, ended up costing $70 shipped. Now it works great... so if you can, just toss the 2x 512's and get 2GB - it's WAY worth it.
__________________

__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 10:31 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: Vista -> XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
hmm, I've never heard of direct x 10 before... what is this? amazing next-gen graphics that trump the PS3 and 360? woah? what is this?

woah... aero effects in vista? whats that... the sexy train? oh em gee its the sexy train

I see your problem, but theres no need to bash vista just because you can't run it...
Aero effect is the most useless feature of vista. They brag about it like they found a cure for cancer, yet it's lot faster to use alt+tab or just click the taskbar. If i want to waste my time, I could just go take a nap.

And if you think direct x 10 trumps PS3 and X360, it's either that you have an 8800GTX (which explains everything) or you don't know what you're talking about. For a laptop with integrated graphics, i can use direct x 10 to wipe my @$$.
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 09-29-2007, 10:35 AM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Vista -> XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
I had vista on my rig and my new laptop came with it. i absolutely hated it. I can tweak XP to use about 80 megs of ram, vista uses 600 megs. Sorry M$ but that memory is reserved for things like music, games and applications. Learn how to write better code.
I second zmatt !
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 09-29-2007, 10:39 AM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Vista -> XP

Since when is having unused ram a good thing?

It's nice that everyone here knows how RAM works
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 04:52 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: Vista -> XP

If windows isn't eating up your RAM then you have more for music, games, and apps. That way your system will not have to resort to virtual memory which is hella slow. I don't know how it can be clearer than that.
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 04:57 PM   #26 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Vista -> XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by pc_boy View Post
Aero effect is the most useless feature of vista. They brag about it like they found a cure for cancer, yet it's lot faster to use alt+tab or just click the taskbar. If i want to waste my time, I could just go take a nap.

And if you think direct x 10 trumps PS3 and X360, it's either that you have an 8800GTX (which explains everything) or you don't know what you're talking about. For a laptop with integrated graphics, i can use direct x 10 to wipe my @$$.
dx9 trumps a ps3 or a 360 lol games consoles are about 5 years behind pc's in terms of physical tech. The pc also has 102 keys that are programmable opposed to the consoles 12
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 05:04 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Vista -> XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by pc_boy View Post
If windows isn't eating up your RAM then you have more for music, games, and apps. That way your system will not have to resort to virtual memory which is hella slow. I don't know how it can be clearer than that.
ehh? And what do you suppose windows is filling up your RAM with? Just useless, random crap
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 12:06 PM   #28 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Vista -> XP

i like vista i dont care tht my comp takes 1min to get to the welcome screen, vista does way way more than XP, you cant expect it to be fast when it does way more stuff
Nick is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 12:59 PM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 15
Default Re: Vista -> XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by pc_boy View Post
I didn't pay anything for this Vista key, it came with the laptop. It's Home Premium and I hate it because it takes too much system resources. It's got a bunch of useless crap that I will never use, so why let it bog down my crappy X2 tk-53 processor with 1gb of ram? I can't upgrade this because it's a notebook and both memory slots are taken.
I completely agree with you, 100&#37;. If XP works well for you, and it surely uses less resources, install XP instead. A few weeks ago when Best Buy had some major laptop blowout sale, I was there playing with all the laptops. They all had Vista on them. I hated the look and feel of it.. it definitely gave me the impression of bloatware. Yeah, a few nice GUI enhancements and more info for things like My Computer->Properties. But, who really gives a crap.

It's like anything else.. they come out with something new, and if you are forced to use it then you will adopt it after a while. But Vista certainly doesn't conjure up feelings of "I need to get this baby ASAP", nor do I believe it conjures those feelings to the majority of users or IT departments out there.

I'll stay with XP for as long as I can. I will switch my workstation to Linux before I will *buy* Vista.
Bongo is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 01:11 PM   #30 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Vista -> XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bongo View Post
I completely agree with you, 100%. If XP works well for you, and it surely uses less resources, install XP instead. A few weeks ago when Best Buy had some major laptop blowout sale, I was there playing with all the laptops. They all had Vista on them. I hated the look and feel of it.. it definitely gave me the impression of bloatware. Yeah, a few nice GUI enhancements and more info for things like My Computer->Properties. But, who really gives a crap.

It's like anything else.. they come out with something new, and if you are forced to use it then you will adopt it after a while. But Vista certainly doesn't conjure up feelings of "I need to get this baby ASAP", nor do I believe it conjures those feelings to the majority of users or IT departments out there.

I'll stay with XP for as long as I can. I will switch my workstation to Linux before I will *buy* Vista.
True.
I've met a lot of very computer illiterate people in the past year who think Vista is the greatest thing since slice bread. They believe that XP is old as in win98 kind of old. So they want to try vista. I get comments of "I can't wait to buy a new computer with Vista...it looks so cool"!
Anyway, we computer literate individuals know the facts...that Vista WILL NOT CHANGE OR MAKE YOUR COMPUTER EXPERIENCE ANY BETTER.
Xp does everything Vista can do. 9/10 Xp does it better.
So for the one who started the thread....go ahead and upgrade to XP. Vista isn't ready for prime time.
Good luck!
__________________

__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Vista Service Pack 1 build leaks out Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 10 08-30-2007 07:53 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista Transformation Pack 7.0 Released Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 11 06-27-2007 10:48 PM
Linux and Vista dual-boot Mike9182 Linux and Open Source 1 06-26-2007 07:53 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.