Vista -> XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2007, 12:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default Vista -> XP

I hate this vista crap. Can i swap the key that came with my laptop for an XP key or maybe use the same key when installing XP?

If someone tried to contact MS to switch, let me know how it went.
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 12:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,514
Default Re: Vista -> XP

I believe if you have Vista Business or Vista Ultimate, you can call MS and they'll let you downgrade for free.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 09-25-2007, 12:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Vista -> XP

lol, "yes I would like to downgrade my $180 key for a $80 key". "thank you for your time". What a trade off.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 08:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista -> XP

Why is Vista crap? Cause you just dont know how to use it yet? I have used it since Nov and have had little to no trouble with it. What are your troubles and maybe we can help. I mean really why lost a $200 OS for a $50 one?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 09:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: Vista -> XP

I didn't pay anything for this Vista key, it came with the laptop. It's Home Premium and I hate it because it takes too much system resources. It's got a bunch of useless crap that I will never use, so why let it bog down my crappy X2 tk-53 processor with 1gb of ram? I can't upgrade this because it's a notebook and both memory slots are taken.
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 09:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Vista -> XP

XP Was crap when it first came out too. In time, Vista will become like XP is now.
Ste is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 10:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: Vista -> XP

Vista will get better, but my system won't. The minimum requirement of RAM just to run Windows Vista is 1GB (512 for the basic version). It's also very sad that you need 128MB of video to run a crappy windows app. Windows XP requires 128MB of RAM (64Mb for the basic version) and a 300Mhz CPU, not 1GHZ like Vista.
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 10:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default Re: Vista -> XP

Yeah they shouldnt be able to get away with putting vista on those $400-$500 pos laptops/desktops. It makes no sense from the consumer standpoint. Most noobs look at it as a steal of a deal with the newest os on it. Mean while its no good in multitasking and theres alot of waiting. Vista puts my rig in my comment to shame. Jeez. Atleast the budget computers that came with xp back in the day were fast.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 04:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Vista -> XP

you do Know you can turn off the "extra crap". It doesn't eat up more resources it uses them more efficiently by preloading apps. I like vista I just don't like the layout of the folders and menus
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 08:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista -> XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by pc_boy View Post
I didn't pay anything for this Vista key, it came with the laptop. It's Home Premium and I hate it because it takes too much system resources. It's got a bunch of useless crap that I will never use, so why let it bog down my crappy X2 tk-53 processor with 1gb of ram? I can't upgrade this because it's a notebook and both memory slots are taken.
So because you cheaped out and bought a junky laptop this is Viusta fault and its crap?:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

That is a good one. You know that is so funny. I have a laptop with Vista on it that has 1GB of RAM and a TL-56 CPU (I think it TL i know its a AMD something or other) and i have no problem running VIsta Home PRemium. How is that??? Mine barely uses 30% of my resources. Hmmm maybe cause i know how to USE VISTA??

Stop bashing the OS for your mistakes.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Vista Service Pack 1 build leaks out Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 10 08-30-2007 07:53 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista Transformation Pack 7.0 Released Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 11 06-27-2007 10:48 PM
Linux and Vista dual-boot Mike9182 Linux and Open Source 1 06-26-2007 07:53 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.