Vista or XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2007, 06:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default Vista or XP

I'm getting my new CPU in the mail today... and I was planning on doing a fresh install of XP when I finally get it but I have been unable to locate my copy of the OS. So now I have the option to install either one... its just a matter of going to my university bookstore and picking up a copy of either for $10.

I have used XP since it came out and I have been quite content. I don't use my computer for much besides listening/downloading MP3s and movies, using Publisher every now and again to update my really BLAND website, playing CS 1.6/Source, play poker online, chat, check email, view pr0n, etc.

Nothing that really requires me to have DX10. Like I said I've been content with XP and I'm not sure if I'd need Vista for anything else...

Given all of that information, and as you can see my hardware from my signature (CPU will be changing over to an Opteron), which direction would you head? I might reinstall Stalker again, but for now my 360 occupies most of my gaming needs.

Just wondering...
__________________

DESIGN is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 06:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: Vista or XP

Ha! $10? send me a copy any day...

go for vista IF you have the following or better

dual core 2.4hz or P4 3.2ghz
more than 1Gb of ram. i found 1GB didnt quite cut it.
128mb gfx card

otherwise stick with xp

in general id say get vista, seeming as its going to be the standard by next year.
__________________

__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 06:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
revenge2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: earth
Posts: 360
Default Re: Vista or XP

LOl, vista is....nice, i have used it for about 3months now and i loved it at first. But now it seems dull. It always asks you for stuff.
Like when your installing and deleting something, its like


PC:"are you sure you want to continue"?
USER:YES

PC:"Allow this program to install?"
USER:YES

Installing..........finished.

PC:Program is incapable of running on ms VISTA
USER: ****K you!

well it doesn't ask you in that way..but you get the idea. And sometimes programs dont work even if you change the setting in compatibility mode.

so i would just say wait until the world catches up (if you get what i mean)
revenge2 is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 07:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: Vista or XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by revenge2 View Post
LOl, vista is....nice, i have used it for about 3months now and i loved it at first. But now it seems dull. It always asks you for stuff.
Like when your installing and deleting something, its like


PC:"are you sure you want to continue"?
USER:YES

PC:"Allow this program to install?"
USER:YES

Installing..........finished.

PC:Program is incapable of running on ms VISTA
USER: ****K you!

well it doesn't ask you in that way..but you get the idea. And sometimes programs dont work even if you change the setting in compatibility mode.

so i would just say wait until the world catches up (if you get what i mean)
ya thats UAC (User Access Control i think) and you can disable it, which is okay. the only thing i found sucked is that you cant disbale WZG so unless you have third party drivers for ur wireless card, youll have a nasty lag spike every 60 seconds.
__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 08:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
revenge2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: earth
Posts: 360
Wink Re: Vista or XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by murdocsvan View Post
ya thats UAC (User Access Control i think) and you can disable it, which is okay. the only thing i found sucked is that you cant disbale WZG so unless you have third party drivers for ur wireless card, youll have a nasty lag spike every 60 seconds.
yeah..anyway vista is great, but i would suggest you dual boot with xp and vista DESIGN. yeap well thats pretty much all there is..

oh yeah which vista are you planin on installin? basic, ultimate etc..
revenge2 is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 05:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: Vista or XP

I think that Vista Rules despite it is been defamed by MACoholics, I've been using Vista for about 9 months (Starting with RC1 to The Ultimate Edition) and I've expierienced many upgrades in the performance and of course stability. Vista has no motive to be jealous of xp especially after the 2008 sp1 release.
__________________
Mike from Greece, 16

mssssee2 is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 06:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Vista or XP

if you have old hardware or not the greatest hardware and only usually muddle around the pc, just sick with xp...but then again you could just use Vista and get used to things...

I prefer vista...my old machines with xp just make it slightly confusing when switching back and forth, etc
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 06:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Vista or XP

i love them both but i would rather spend my money on games thans vista, so xp m8! depends how much u can get vista for. but i dont think u have the spec not sure, u will have to have a good graphics card to take fulll effect of vista really like areo n the switch windows
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 07:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista or XP

Hey jay_bo what happens when the games you get are Vista only?!? Kinda puts you in a predicament there. Considering almost all games are being made for Vista now. Kinda makes little sense to go with XP. Espically when you can get either or for the same price.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 06:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Vista or XP

true well like i said he best off putting patchs on his games, but he anit listening lol
__________________

__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista Transformation Pack 7.0 Released Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 11 06-27-2007 10:48 PM
Linux and Vista dual-boot Mike9182 Linux and Open Source 1 06-26-2007 07:53 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.