Is Vista x64 worth the trouble? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2008, 05:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Question Is Vista x64 worth the trouble?

So, just a few minutes ago I added two more gigs of ram to my machine totaling a round 4GB. I run Vista Ultimate 32-bit and I am very happy with it because it has drivers for everything I am using and all is stable. Right now Vista recognizes 3.5 GB of all my ram (3583 MB) to be exact. I know x64 Vista will recognize and use all of it, my only concern is lack of support for applications. I did my research and looked for drivers for my hardware and it looks like everything will be supported out of the box. I just want to know if 32-bit applications are still compatible with x64. I know that x64 doesn't run any apps that are 3.1xx but that isn't a concern to me. Thanks for the help guys.
__________________

__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 08:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Is Vista x64 worth the trouble?

You will have to check each application separately. Some might be compatible. Some will be. Others wont be. Some might have a specific 64 Bit version. Some might not. It depends on the software you use.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 10:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default Re: Is Vista x64 worth the trouble?

so a dual boot for a while would be my best bet?
__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 10:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Is Vista x64 worth the trouble?

When I used Windows x64, I never really ran into issues. If you have above 3 Gigs of ram in a 32 bit system you might actually run into Vista update problems so I would recommend just going with the 64 bit OS; however, with only 4 gigabytes of ram both operating systems will probably end up performing the same. <-- But from my experience, I ran into more problems having more than 3 gigs on 32 bit vista than with working with 64 bit vista.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 12:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default Re: Is Vista x64 worth the trouble?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronkupen View Post
When I used Windows x64, I never really ran into issues. If you have above 3 Gigs of ram in a 32 bit system you might actually run into Vista update problems so I would recommend just going with the 64 bit OS; however, with only 4 gigabytes of ram both operating systems will probably end up performing the same. <-- But from my experience, I ran into more problems having more than 3 gigs on 32 bit vista than with working with 64 bit vista.
was it really buggy or it didn't update at all? I just ran it the whole day so far and I can see a increase in performance when it comes to games. Overall surfing and small tasks also work fine. Like I said I am only going to gain about 512MB more ram if I upgrade.
__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 08:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Is Vista x64 worth the trouble?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cnico88 View Post
was it really buggy or it didn't update at all? I just ran it the whole day so far and I can see a increase in performance when it comes to games. Overall surfing and small tasks also work fine. Like I said I am only going to gain about 512MB more ram if I upgrade.
Some updates flat out didn't update. And actually, from what I've read on Tom'sHardware.com, since you are on a 64 bit OS a lot of your programs will be using more memory which kind of cancels out the added memory that you get from the switch.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 01:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: Is Vista x64 worth the trouble?

It will be very valuable a couple of years down the road. 64 bits, endless ram memory power!

Thanks for all the new users who are getting it now and working out all the bugs for the rest of us!
darsunt is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 05:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default Re: Is Vista x64 worth the trouble?

so is a dual boot attainable if I partition the drive and leave my 32-bit on there?
__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 05:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Is Vista x64 worth the trouble?

Anything is obtainable if you know how. Yes just partition the drive and install 64 BIt.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 05:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Eric1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 388
Default Re: Is Vista x64 worth the trouble?

When I made a duel boot with windows 32bit and windows 64bit I had problems. However I was making a duel boot with XP32bit and Vista 64 bit. Maybe that was the problem.
__________________

__________________
"How May I Misdirect Your Posts Today"
My Rig: A.K.A. My Little China Girl
Intel quad core q6600 2.4 Ghz
8GB G.Skill PC26400 DDR2 800Mhz
EVGA 8800GT 512
Raidmax Smilodon case
Thermaltake 700Watt Power
Gigabyte 965P-DS3 S-Series
Western Digital 500GB SATA
Audiology 2 ZS Creative sound card
ViewSonic 22" Widescreen display
Windows XP 64



Eric1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
The Vista Death Watch EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 112 11-20-2007 12:20 PM
Vista Ultimate x64 is restarting on the hour every hour 89camaro Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-03-2007 11:35 PM
Trouble with Vista/ Sli? clendn PC Gaming 0 08-26-2007 01:17 AM
soundcard for vista = worthless? macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 34 05-05-2007 10:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.