Vista+ X-fi Xtreme audio - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2007, 06:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Vista+ X-fi Xtreme audio

Ok im currantly on xp pro and had a vista disc sat in my drawer for months and months for the simple reason that whenever i installed vista my sound would work BUT CMSS-3D and Crystalizer would not work, so my question is does anyone else have vista and a Xtreme audio soundcard that fully works? or know of someone who does?

I dont want to install/ uninstall for the third time
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 08:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista+ X-fi Xtreme audio

Well maybe because you have to go to the creative site and get the Vista drivers. As for the Direct 3D sound or whatever that is used in games. Vista doesnt have that at all. You have to get Creative aLchemy which they came out with recenty in order to use that in game on Vista.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 09:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Vista+ X-fi Xtreme audio

i should have said i did have the correct vista drivers, also i said I DID have sound, therefor that tells you that i had the drivers, its just 2 of the main functions of my sound are not available in the creative control panel(CMSS-3D and Crystalizer)
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 10:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Vista+ X-fi Xtreme audio

I think the beta project Alchemy from Creative was supposed to fix this.
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista+ X-fi Xtreme audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny_uk View Post
i should have said i did have the correct vista drivers, also i said I DID have sound, therefor that tells you that i had the drivers, its just 2 of the main functions of my sound are not available in the creative control panel(CMSS-3D and Crystalizer)
Well you didnt read the last part of my post. As i explained that the 3D and that doesnt work in Vista!!!!! You need the Creative ALchemy project in order for it to work. They wont be available in the control panel cause Vista DOES NOT HAVE IT. As i have said already.

Get the Creative ALchemy project for $10 and then your problem is solved.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Vista+ X-fi Xtreme audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Well you didnt read the last part of my post. As i explained that the 3D and that doesnt work in Vista!!!!! You need the Creative ALchemy project in order for it to work. They wont be available in the control panel cause Vista DOES NOT HAVE IT. As i have said already.

Get the Creative ALchemy project for $10 and then your problem is solved.
Can i have links to this?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 01:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Vista+ X-fi Xtreme audio

ok i found it but its free? i dont have to pay for it.

Heres where i found it Customer Support: Downloads

So that will make CMSS-3D and crystalizer work in the creative control panel? im not worried about EAX advanced or EAX 5.0 because my card doesnt support that anyway
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 02:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista+ X-fi Xtreme audio

That i dont think will work. This is the app i am talking about.

Creative ALchemy

It might be this.

Customer Support: Downloads

But if it is free for X-Fi and not the Audigy that i own that would **** me off as i had to pay $10 to be able to use this stuff on my Vista install and the X-Fi users dont. What is that about....
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 02:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Vista+ X-fi Xtreme audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
That i dont think will work. This is the app i am talking about.

Creative ALchemy

It might be this.

Customer Support: Downloads

But if it is free for X-Fi and not the Audigy that i own that would **** me off as i had to pay $10 to be able to use this stuff on my Vista install and the X-Fi users dont. What is that about....
on that first link you posted, when it loaded up i clicked on "Alchemy for X-fi" and it said its free for most X-fi cards
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 06:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Vista+ X-fi Xtreme audio

vista and creative have been beefing forever. vista is trying to change (hijack) the sound spec. of computers. vista don't support hardware acceleration. creative openal (which most games support) in vista does. this is cheating people who have spent lot of money on their sound cards
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista AUDIO issue (crackles & skips) Monolith Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-04-2007 08:44 PM
Very funky...audio hardware disappears! cclpgapro Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-20-2007 01:04 AM
For Audio Experts only! Stunner1127 Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 03-30-2007 06:34 PM
Audio Challenge Stunner1127 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-30-2007 12:30 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.