Vista wont complete shutdown - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2007, 03:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default Vista wont complete shutdown

a few weeks ago, i posted problems about vista making apps not respond often, and failing to shutdown... since then, i have tryed updating drivers, bios update, a few other things listed too, but today i tryed to start fresh again, and wipe windows.

i could have sworn this would have worked, but alas, it still fails to shutdown 90% of the time... it just stays on 'shutting down' step. this happens for both tryin to shutdown, or restart, makin updating anything annoying.

everything worked fine when i was running XP, but now it doesnt wanna work.

the only thing i changed in my comp was a new PSU about 1 week before i installed vista... could this have anything to do with it?

im not sure if vista is still making my apps not respond, that is something that only time will tell, but what is the cause of this? could it be vista itself being bad? or just my unfortunate setup

Chrono is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 05:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista wont complete shutdown

Okay are you sure the new PSU can handle all the load? 2nd how long are you waiting before you force shut down your PC? I knwo that after a couple of the updates it took my system almost 5 minutes to shut down and restart.

I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 09:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default Re: Vista wont complete shutdown

powersupply is a 750W thermaltake tough power, traded up from a generic 450, so im sure it can take it.

normally i wait 2 or so mins b4 i force shutdown, but when it was updating, i was waiting over 10 mins... should never take that long

[EDIT: also, i dont suppose its normal for it to crash often, as ive been running fresh for a few hours now, and when opening my computer sometimes, it stops responding, and im unable to just close that down... the cursor turns into one of the loading circles, and just stays that way... makin me have to force reset to do anything... any ideas?]
Chrono is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
vista wont shutdown j3wcl@w Microsoft Windows and Software 0 05-09-2007 12:45 PM
Vista and MSI K8N Neo 2 Motherboard Harper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-26-2007 08:40 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 03:48 PM
do i need to back up tablet specific drivers when upgrading from vista RC2 to vista rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-05-2007 04:05 AM
Vista & my Wireless Network motoxer4533 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-31-2007 07:58 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.