vista is testing my nerves - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2007, 02:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 101
Default vista is testing my nerves

so i dont know whats wrong with it now...ive been able to fix all my vista issues myself but now im stuck....I ran the latest updates for windows vista 32 bit, but after installing the LOTR Online shadows of Angmar it started to make my display driver crash...so i uninstalled it, uninstalled my vid card driver and did fresh install of it of the lastest driver from nvidia (i have an xfx 8800gtx)
so after doing that i reinstalled LOTR and it worked fine i rebooted the computer and tried to open IE up but it opens for a second then says this program has stopped working. The faulting mod is jscript.dll i looked this up on another computer and it said that its a java script file and if its not there or corrupted it will cause IE to crash....so i managed to put a different browser on there (flock browser) and went to java.com to download the latest...sure enough it wouldnt let me do it, so i uninstalled the java that i had rebooted and went to it again...it starts but then windows comes up and says: "Error Applying Transforms, verify specified transform paths are valid"....Ive installed all lastest drivers i've rolled back drivers, ive uninstalled LOTR, ive did that master reset for IE i scanned for virus' and nothing was found using Kaspersky, Norton and AVG (i did 3 because i know one will sometimes pick up something another one will not) ive tried downloading the offline installer for java and still gives me the same error...heres the details of IE crash

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: iexplore.exe
Application Version: 7.0.6000.16386
Application Timestamp: 4549b133
Fault Module Name: jscript.dll
Fault Module Version: 5.7.0.6000
Fault Module Timestamp: 4549bce2

the version of it i believe is the out of date version its up to 6.3 now for java and im pretty sure IE would work right if i could get java installed but i cant so anyone got any ideas? oh ive also downloaded it on my other computer and burnt it onto a cd still the same thing
__________________

__________________
-E6300 Intel Core Duo 1.86GHz
-ASUS P5NSLI Motherboard
-OCZ PC6400 800MHz 4x1GB Platinum series
-XFX 8800GTX
-OCZ Gamer Xtream 700W PSU
-2x160GB WD HD in RAID 0
-Antec Nine Hundred case
icantflybfplane is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 05:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default Re: vista is testing my nerves

When you go to the control panel do you have the java icon and what happens when you click it? if it comes up with the java control panel delete the temporary files then try the update tab.

You could also try add/remove programs and uninstalling java completely.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 11:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: vista is testing my nerves

Please, could you be more accurate? It might be a vista bug which is probably fixed, try windows update. Also try running the program in compartibility mode and as administrator.

,MIKE FROM Greece, 14
mssssee2 is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: vista is testing my nerves

nVidia themselves have said that the 8800 drivers are buggy. So that is why with your XFX 8800 GTX and a game that you are experiencing issues. The iexplorer crash could be a result of this issue as well as the buggy drivers could also result in other issues since they are known to be buggy.

It could be also that the nVidia 8800 drivers can use the latest Java. I do know that the latest Java is tested and working on XP. Not fully on VIsta yet which has a completely new structure than XP.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 09:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: vista is testing my nerves

If it's only happening in IE; just use FireFox - it's much better anyway.
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 02:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 101
Default Re: vista is testing my nerves

nah ive ran all windows updates, ive ran in admin mode.....yea i might use firefox its just a pain that messenger uses IE by default and theres no way to change it. and no theres no java icon i was able to uninstall it no problem but update to this issue...i left my computer on all day amd when i got home from work it mystically worked fine....i had left my Flock browser open at msn.com while i was at work...thats what i left it at last night because i got tired of trying to fix this issue so when i opened IE when i got home it works fine now...but i still get the same error downloading java? so thats fine...i can live without java for now i just find it strange it works all of a sudden now
__________________

__________________
-E6300 Intel Core Duo 1.86GHz
-ASUS P5NSLI Motherboard
-OCZ PC6400 800MHz 4x1GB Platinum series
-XFX 8800GTX
-OCZ Gamer Xtream 700W PSU
-2x160GB WD HD in RAID 0
-Antec Nine Hundred case
icantflybfplane is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM
Vista install Xandrex New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-05-2007 04:49 PM
do i need to back up tablet specific drivers when upgrading from vista RC2 to vista rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-05-2007 05:05 AM
Which one is better Windows Xp OR Vista For playing Games!!! Check it out... lekhi123 Microsoft Windows and Software 13 04-01-2007 11:40 PM
Vista & my Wireless Network motoxer4533 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-31-2007 08:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.