Vista Taking for Ever! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2008, 04:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to BigRoc
Default

Okay, so I built a new computer and I'm trying to install Vista Home Prem. It takes a long time even get the Install now option to come up. I set up a raid 0 before trying to install vista, could that be the problem? It just seems to be sitting there "loading". Whats going on with this thing? Could it be any hardware problems?

EDIT: OMG, right when I hit post, the product key came up I guess its supposed to take a really long time then?

I guess I was wrong, I installed vista twice now with no luck. After it installs it restarts and when it goes to load vista the blue screen with the error message comes on but it then it restarts and I can't do anything except boot from the disk... Please some one help me! This is not the first time Ive installed an OS before either...
__________________

BigRoc is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 05:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista Taking for Ever!

Vista does not take that long to install. I have had it start and finish within 20 Minutes. I would say that it has a issue with your RAID setup.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 05:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default Re: Vista Taking for Ever!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Vista does not take that long to install. I have had it start and finish within 20 Minutes.
Im 100% clear on that with Mak .. its alot quicker than XP's install
__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 05:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to BigRoc
Default Re: Vista Taking for Ever!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Vista does not take that long to install. I have had it start and finish within 20 Minutes. I would say that it has a issue with your RAID setup.
What would you suggest I do? I'm a noob at raid and I thought I set it up right but maybe I didn't.
BigRoc is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 06:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista Taking for Ever!

I wouldn't use RAID. That is the first suggestion i can say. Test the system out first without RAID to see if it works. Then do some more research on how to setup the system with RAID.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 06:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Vista Taking for Ever!

I had issues trying to install vista to a raid also. But one thing you might try is only using 1 stick of memory.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 06:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to BigRoc
Default Re: Vista Taking for Ever!

alright, I got rid of the raid and im only using one stick of ram, I just dont know why it takes so long for it load, it seems like it should take so long. oh well, i hope this works.

Update:
I tried installing XP instead and this is what I get:

A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer. then it goes on to say, remove any newly installed hard drives or hard drive controllers. check your hard drive to make sure it is properly configured and terminated.

I also tried vista one more time and when I get to the part where you pick the partitions it won't let because it says it doesn't meet the criteria to allow it to be installed...

I did forget to mention that when I first turned the computer on a fan on the case was messed up and it almost caught on fire. I removed it and everything seemed to work just fine. But I guess it doesn't.
BigRoc is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 08:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista Taking for Ever!

Could be a hardware issue. Try using GParted and format the drive fresh before you install. Could also be a issue with the setup there.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 09:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Vista Taking for Ever!

To save me making a new thread, if you make a partition with Gparted can you remove the partition and make it as one whole drive again whenever you like? ive never done this before
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 09:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista Taking for Ever!

Yes and no. If you are combine the partitions when they are empty then yes. But if you have data on them it is much trickier. As that data has to be moved from the one partition to the other. Which is not easily done. GParted can do this as well.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
Microsoft offers a Vista two-for deal Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 8 01-01-2008 04:17 PM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.