Vista SUX or not... - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2008, 09:58 AM   #31 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
the specs of my puter don't have much to do with vista and CS:S compatibility.
No, but clearly 4gig of ram and 512mb video card does. duuur.
__________________

__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 11:46 AM   #32 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayce View Post
No, but clearly 4gig of ram and 512mb video card does. duuur.
ehh? What are you on about? 4gb ram and a 512mb card have nothing to do with Vista and CS:S compatibility.

btw I ran CS:S fine on Vista when I had my 4400x2, 2gb ddr1, and 7900GT as well
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 12:17 PM   #33 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
ehh? What are you on about? 4gb ram and a 512mb card have nothing to do with Vista and CS:S compatibility.

btw I ran CS:S fine on Vista when I had my 4400x2, 2gb ddr1, and 7900GT as well
I was talking in terms of being able to run the **** game due to the amount of hardware resources you have, since there was talk earlier about ram and its usefulness/wastefulness vista exhibits.
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 01:44 PM   #34 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

vista is fantastic so far
especially with Service pack coming out soon(hopefully)(RC 1 is out for while)
and Dream scene 2.0 is coming out next month, now us non-ultimate users can have cool animated wallpapers too
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 02:04 PM   #35 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

Heh, ignore this post. It seems someone already said the exact same thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayce View Post
I was talking in terms of being able to run the **** game due to the amount of hardware resources you have, since there was talk earlier about ram and its usefulness/wastefulness vista exhibits.
About that... It must be just me but 'wastefulness' of RAM would be letting it set unused. The Vista superfetch works very well for me. It has no problem clearing out the RAM very quickly when a different large application/game is ran.

If the OS can use the RAM to load my programs faster then great! If you don't like it you can always turn it off and see how you like that instead... If my memory is correct its under Services.

One thing about Vista that I though was kinda strange is on a fresh install - after updating - it is extremely slow to boot to desktop. But after about a week its lightning quick. That is prolly one reason that people drop it without giving it a real chance.

My only regret is that I got an OEM version from Newegg.com. Should have gotten the retail so I don't have to re-buy it.
SinxarKnights is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 02:42 PM   #36 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

I just didn't have the best luck with Vista on my laptop. But, like I said, maybe SP1 will solve that for me.

I do look forward to using it again. I did like the layout. But geez... it was just driving me insane for a while.

When is the official release of SP1?
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 05:33 PM   #37 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 62
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

I use vista as you guys and still i dont have any complaining. I would guess that there is a lot of bad publicity around.

Is not the best of the best but works perfectly for what i need. thats how i would put it.
__________________
~Wir mussen leben bis wir sterben~
RaptorX is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 06:52 AM   #38 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

Does anybody else think that Vista magically got faster on boot times after a week or so of use? I think I used Vista for about a solid month before I dropped it. It never got faster in my experience.
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 08:10 AM   #39 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

I have run Vista with firewalls, anti-virus, among about 13 other applicaitons at start up and i never experienced long boot times. My boot times have always been the same. Less than a minute. Boot times never get faster only slower. So what is your point?

I mean load up XP with about 300 applicaitons does it boot up faster? No. Load up Ubuntu with everything you can. Does it boot up faster? No. So what is the point you are trying to make?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 08:08 PM   #40 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
I have run Vista with firewalls, anti-virus, among about 13 other applicaitons at start up and i never experienced long boot times. My boot times have always been the same. Less than a minute. Boot times never get faster only slower. So what is your point?

I mean load up XP with about 300 applicaitons does it boot up faster? No. Load up Ubuntu with everything you can. Does it boot up faster? No. So what is the point you are trying to make?
Then what was my problem?

I boot XP in under a minute (around 35-40 seconds), no apps loaded.
I boot Vista just shy of 2 minutes.
Same laptop.
Same hardware.
2gb RAM.

That's my point, buddy.
__________________

__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
Microsoft offers a Vista two-for deal Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 8 01-01-2008 04:17 PM
No More Vista Recuded Functionality Mode. Harper Microsoft Windows and Software 7 12-06-2007 09:53 AM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.