Vista SUX or not... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2008, 12:21 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

Well, Vista must have come out with some NICE drivers in the last 3 weeks then!! Because that's when I dropped it...
__________________

__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 02:05 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 84
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

WHen I'll have a new build, I'll go Vista. I don't care if it's not going to be as fast as XP, since it'll be fast for me anyway, as I'm running Celeron M, 256ram laptop now anyways. On XP. And it's pretty slow .

I'll go Vista cuz it looks much better than XP and it's an important factor for me. I might even try to get Leopard working on a new system, although not sure about that.
__________________

fhasser is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 02:51 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

Yeah. Looks used to be very important to me. After all, you're talking to a die hard Ubuntu user that swore by Compiz Fusion 3d animation and effects!

As I ventured back to Windows platforms since Ubuntu is not fully supported on my system, I quickly learned how much more important stability was than eye candy. On XP, I like my Zune theme with the orange start button and black taskbar. Besides that, the eye candy stops there.
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 05:57 PM   #24 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
What kind of trouble.

gets an error message... like hl2.exe has failed to load or something... Ill ask for the details later...

i know since cs:s is a half life 2 mod it comes up with that message alot of the times... but he seems to be having the problem on his new alienware laptop with vista... he belives it is because of vista...

I havent really given it a thought untill i decided that i would like to upgrade to vista in the near future and since my main game is CS:S... it would be a big deal if i could not play that game.

You probably can't troubleshoot it on the little info i gave you...ill be back with more
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 06:16 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

well i can play CSS on vista without problems and always have been able to
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 06:34 PM   #26 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
well i can play CSS on vista without problems and always have been able to
By looking at the stats of your computer, I'm not surprised you can run CS in Vista without any issues.
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 06:47 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

I am runnin vista on a system with 1GB of ram, AMD Athlon 64 3000+ and a 6600GT.... Not a single issue....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 06:59 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayce View Post
By looking at the stats of your computer, I'm not surprised you can run CS in Vista without any issues.
the specs of my puter don't have much to do with vista and CS:S compatibility.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 07:21 PM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

Vista is good if your computer is newer. i got vista for my computer, the only trouble i had was with my graphics card, it was an ATI Radeon 9250, which isnt supported by vista (yet) so i got a new one, but then i had to get a better PSU, but that was cause i upgraded the video card over the 250watt limit of the original.

Other then the high system requirements, its a great operating system.
ChemicalMonkey is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 08:35 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Vista SUX or not...

honestly my current Radeon 9250 doesn't have problems with Vista Home Basic (theres a huge slowdown when I used Home Premium tho..) but my new system is gonna have Vista Ultimate

I think Vista is a great OS tho, once in a while it doesn't run Soldier Front when I want it too, but running it again and it works
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
Microsoft offers a Vista two-for deal Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 8 01-01-2008 04:17 PM
No More Vista Recuded Functionality Mode. Harper Microsoft Windows and Software 7 12-06-2007 09:53 AM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.