Vista And Steam - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2007, 03:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Exclamation Vista And Steam

Okay I have been having this problem for a while now and I just want to play HL2, When I click on Steam.exe it updates (Right)

then just when it finishes it says "Steam Is Temp Unavalibe" then it shuts down. Then I try again then it updates again. I tried it on a XP machine and it works fine. Plz help
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 07:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I have no problem running Steam or any games from Steam on my Vista install. Did you install Steam under Vista or just run it from your XP drive?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 10:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 41
Default

i experienced this on this computer. I was really furious at the time, but it seems i didn't try to update for about 2 days. This seemed to work and finally update over time ><.

its really annoying and has nothing to do with vista

i would contact steam about this issue :amazed:
__________________
----XPS m1710----
-intel® Core™ 2 Duo T7600 (2.33GHz, 4MB L2 Cache, 667 MHz FSB)
-2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHZ, 2 DIMM
-512MB NVIDIA® GeForce™ Go 7950 GTX
-WD 80GB 7200rpm SATA Hard Drive
-8X CD/DVD Burner (DVD+/-RW) with double-layer DVD+R
coleman is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 06:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I dont think Steam is fully updated and compatable with Vista just yet.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.