Vista & Spyware - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2007, 12:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to BottleRocket
Default Vista & Spyware

I just got a new HP laptop with Vista Home Premium. With its new security features and the Norton trial for now, then switching to Avast Home, do I still need to get spyware removal software? Or is Vista secure enough?
__________________

BottleRocket is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 01:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Vista & Spyware

Vista Secure enough?
Thats hilarious.....!!

Dunnue if they compatible.. But.
SpywareBlaster
Adware SE Personnel
Spybot Search and Destroy
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 11:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Vista & Spyware

Spybot works on Vista. I use it without any problem.

Last time I checked, Adware does not work. And I don't know anything about spyware Blaster
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista & Spyware

The newest version of AdAware does work for Vista. Yet i can say that after using Vista for the past 6 months (even with browsing with IE) i have yet to get spyware.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 06:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Vista & Spyware

Hello,

Windows Vista already comes with anti spyware software called Windows Defender, which also has real-time protection. By default, it's active and running until you disable it.

I've chosen to disable Windows Defender (including the service and the scheduled task) on my Vista system as part of my Vista optimization tweaks. Instead, I run Spybot Search & Destroy regularly.

Instructions on how to disable Windows Defender here: http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Win...bf0dc1033.mspx

You should always have at least one anti spyware/adware program on your system that you run regularly.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 09:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Vista & Spyware

vista is secure, but you should always get more if you can....recent studies and admonitions by security companies all say none of them can keep up with all the mutations and 0-days...

i use the AVG stuff, spybot s/d, ad-aware, zone alarm...

sometimes one app doesn't catch what another will...

virii and spyware are 2 different things, Vista is pretty good at squelching a virus....but get the anti-spyware apps to bust the programs that pretend to be legit, or are known to be fishy...

only add-on software should handle the anti-spyware stuff, even MS one care...touchy grounds sometimes and better 3rd parties handle it
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
What spyware removers work on windows vista 64 bit systems? madcat75 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-09-2007 07:14 PM
Linux and Vista dual-boot Mike9182 Linux and Open Source 1 06-26-2007 07:53 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.