Vista speculations... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2007, 05:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista speculations...

Nero 7 works in Vista you just need a version higher than 7.5.9.0 for it to work. That was teh first version that was Vista compatible.

The olny place i can think of would be Guru3D for the drivers. Either that or Archive.org or some other archive site.

As for Vista. I have run it since it was in Beta and have had few to no problems with it since it was released.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 11:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Vista speculations...

Vista runs decently for me, except for the 2-3 minute boot up time, even after upgrading to 2gb of RAM.

I'm in the works though of researching exactly how some of these guys on youtube has 12 second fully running ready-to-go boot times.
__________________

__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 11:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Vista speculations...

MOST DEF turn OFF the UAC
most annoying sh|t ever

mine boots up around a minute @,@
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 01:12 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Vista speculations...

UAC? What is that? Is that how you get your system to boot in under a minute?

Boot time to me isn't that important, but when it takes 3 minutes to boot it's at the point where I want to just power down and bounce back over to Ubuntu, despite it's lack of support for my wireless or sound. (I dual boot).
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 01:17 AM   #15 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Vista speculations...

UAC:
Quote:
User Account Control (UAC) is a technology and security infrastructure first introduced with Microsoft's Windows Vista operating system. It aims to improve the security of Microsoft Windows by limiting application software to standard user privileges until an administrator authorizes an increase in privilege level. In this way, only applications that the user trusts receive higher privileges, and malware is kept from receiving the privileges necessary to compromise the operating system. In other words, a user account may have administrator privileges assigned to it, but applications that the user runs do not also have those privileges unless they are approved beforehand or the user explicitly authorizes it to have higher privileges.
User Account Control - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 03:13 AM   #16 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Vista speculations...

Q:
Boot time to me isn't that important, but when it takes 3 minutes to boot it's at the point where I want to just power down and bounce back over to Ubuntu, despite it's lack of support for my wireless or sound. (I dual boot).

A:
Try:
1. Defragment
Computer > right click on the drive letter you want to defragment > properties > go to Tools tab > you will see defragmentation > click on defragment now

2. screw unnecessary start-up programs
Click on the Start Menu, then click on Run, and type in "msconfig" (without quotes). Now you should see a window pop up with several tabs at the top. Click on the tab labeled Startup. This will show you every application that runs when Windows starts up. Uncheck everything you don't need to run at startup.

3. Virus/Spyware Scan
to each his/her own, but I suggest
The home of Spybot-S&D!
Ad-Aware

More ways to speed up your boot time
Improving "Cold Boot" Time for System Manufacturers
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 11:11 AM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Vista speculations...

-All startup programs are disabled.

-Why defrag? The installation of Vista is 3 days old.

-The above applies to virus and spyware too.
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 01:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Vista speculations...

mine probably boots up in about 30 seconds ( i should probably time it officially just to see)
ref:
e6600, 2gb ram, ati 1800 512 mb....forget the hd specs

I have zone alarm, avira loaded up
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 02:08 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Vista speculations...

Quote:
Originally Posted by atomic tofu View Post
mine probably boots up in about 30 seconds ( i should probably time it officially just to see)
ref:
e6600, 2gb ram, ati 1800 512 mb....forget the hd specs

I have zone alarm, avira loaded up
WHAT?!?!?!? I'm just going to sit in the corner and cry now. What's your secret? YOU MUST TELL ME!!
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 02:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Vista speculations...

lol, no real secret...but I should go home and recheck for you. You really have nothing loading up, or a lot disabled?

which is your install, from your hds listed if that's what you use.
my system is stock or default too...nothing overclocked.

6 more hours and I can recheck
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No More Vista Recuded Functionality Mode. Harper Microsoft Windows and Software 7 12-06-2007 09:53 AM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
Windows Vista SP1 will annoy Pirates Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-04-2007 07:36 PM
Download Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Beta Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-14-2007 11:57 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.