Vista SP1? and XP SP3? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2009, 04:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Question Vista SP1? and XP SP3?

Hey everyone, i was just wondering about Vista's service pack 1 stability compared to SP3 for XP. Is it safe to install SP1 for vista and not have any problems?? Also is it safe for everyone to install SP3 for XP now?? I work at a tech shop so i want to get updated on these service packs. So far i notice not much customers install sp3 and sp1, so i need some opinions.

Thanks,
Stevo808
__________________

__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 04:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Vista SP1? and XP SP3?

When going to install any large service pack always manually create a system restore point regardless of which SP or version will see the install. Presently SP3 is on XP and SP2 beta is on Vista here not having any problems going on or seen later.

Initially when service packs are released they may see problems with certain premade systems like HP or Dell. Later any problems found are corrected. Presently you shouldn't have any problems by first disabling any 3rd party protections that are active to allow the updates to go on.

Some report improved performance after seeing SP1 for Vista installed. SP3 for XP contains over 1,000 fixes for the older version there.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 05:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,417
Default Re: Vista SP1? and XP SP3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
Some report improved performance after seeing SP1 for Vista installed. SP3 for XP contains over 1,000 fixes for the older version there.
That's an understatement. A lot, if not all, people found SP1 to be faster, because it made Vista's processes more efficient.

In short: yes, its safe to install both Vista SP1 and XP SP3; it has been for a long time now.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 05:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Vista SP1? and XP SP3?

I'm someone who saw nothing but negative issues after installing Vista SP1. Even when it worked, it felt slower.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 06:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Vista SP1? and XP SP3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
That's an understatement. A lot, if not all, people found SP1 to be faster, because it made Vista's processes more efficient.

In short: yes, its safe to install both Vista SP1 and XP SP3; it has been for a long time now.
Unlike what was seen when first seeing SP2 and later SP3 go on XP so far I haven't noticed any particular performance boost but haven't seen any problems with it on or SP2 beta currently in use here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronkupen View Post
I'm someone who saw nothing but negative issues after installing Vista SP1. Even when it worked, it felt slower.
You may have seen some new programs added along with new startups or could be seeing a need to defrag the hard drive or cleanup the system registry a little as a result of other problems seeing your system slowed down any. I would have noticed anything like that here right away if SP1 was a cause. With SP2 beta no problems seen as of yet.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 03:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default Re: Vista SP1? and XP SP3?

Thanks for the info guys, as for SP2 beta version for vista i did see several customers come in with problems that was referring to SP2. I forgot the problems that was going on but i had to re-install the o/s to fix it. So far it sounds like SP3 is safe to install, anyone else have any opinions on it?
__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 03:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Vista SP1? and XP SP3?

Supposedly the RTM for Vista's SP2 will be available in April. Here I'll simply roll back the beta version of that to see a finished service pack likely go on without a glitch. All this time however XP was always buggy to start with finally seeing much needed fixes in SP3.

I'll tell you something straight out if I still need XP for some softwares it would be long gone. I saw more errors come up in XP then seen with 98SE in the same amount of time since I still was able to run as a second OS on an older board up until 2006! That was the last board to see drivers for the old version there.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 04:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Tim
Sir Timothy
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chichester, England
Posts: 534
Default Re: Vista SP1? and XP SP3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronkupen View Post
I'm someone who saw nothing but negative issues after installing Vista SP1. Even when it worked, it felt slower.

I saw a huge improvement when i installed Vista sp1.
Faster booting, faster... everything, and no random crashes
__________________
Tim is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 04:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Vista SP1? and XP SP3?

That's funny cause I've experiened 55 second restart times (from talking on AIM, to talking on AIM) with Vista pre SP1,and I've never crashed.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 08:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Vista SP1? and XP SP3?

I haven't seen any noticable reduction in startup time with that and SP2 beta both on. Besides that however there haven't been any problem seeing them go on or later from having them installed. 7 however even now getting most programs on seems to load up faster for the most part with less lag when reaching the desktop waiting for things to finish loading.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.