Vista SP1 Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2008, 08:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 130
Default Vista SP1 Issues

Just downloaded the Vista SP1 update, restarted puter....and then realized that this updated service pack FUBARED to <Snipped> my display. Everything shot to <Snipped>....fonts, icons, aspect ratio...SUCKS BIG TIME. Thinking of a roll back, but I'll wait for suggestion, comment reply.
__________________

ezysk is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 09:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista SP1 Issues

Okay first. Read the rules. Zero Tolerance Profanity Policy.

2nd this is a known issue and has been know for over a month now since they start to roll out Vista SP1. You will have to get updated drivers for your onboard video.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 10:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 130
Default Re: Vista SP1 Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post

2nd this is a known issue and has been know for over a month now since they start to roll out Vista SP1. You will have to get updated drivers for your onboard video.
I have the NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 series...but Windows says its the most current version.
ezysk is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 10:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista SP1 Issues

Did you check the manufacturers website? Have you tried to uninstall the drivers and reinstall them?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 10:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 130
Default Re: Vista SP1 Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Did you check the manufacturers website? Have you tried to uninstall the drivers and reinstall them?
Yep: http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

....and don't even have NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 listed.
ezysk is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 10:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista SP1 Issues

I didnt mean did you check nvidia's site. Did you check the PC manufacturer's site. None of the moblie GFX Drivers aer listed on the nvidia site. You have to check eac PC manufacturer's site for those updates.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 09:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 130
Default Re: Vista SP1 Issues

Rechecked the NVIDIA driver downloads and they did have the update. Followed the suggestion for deleting and installing driver, and now I have my pretty lovely display settings back. Big thanks. Still these Vista updates just aren't worth the hassle. Not only did it mess up my display, but also the audio driver and even applications such as Photoshop. This age old adage can never be more truer: "If ain't broke...DON'T FIX IT"
ezysk is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 09:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista SP1 Issues

Photoshop just uninstall it and reinstall it. Will fix that one. I run Photoshop CS2 and Photoshop CS3 on my Vista SP1. If you have Realtek a new driver was just release.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 02:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 130
Default Re: Vista SP1 Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Photoshop just uninstall it and reinstall it. Will fix that one. I run Photoshop CS2 and Photoshop CS3 on my Vista SP1. If you have Realtek a new driver was just release.
May I ask how you were able to successfully and correctly install Photoshop CS3 after installing Vista SP1 ?

The only thing I'm getting after several PS CS3 reinstalls is this:

Errors 2 Components:
X Adobe Phostoshop CS3
Component Install FAILED

X Shared Components
Component Install FAILED

I'm not having any luck searching for a solution on other sites as well. The last thing I want to do is to reinstall Vista...just so I can install Photoshop CS3
ezysk is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 09:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista SP1 Issues

Use CCleaner and remove any left over bits of Photoshop. Either htat or use Revo Uninstaller.

My install of Vista had SP1 already incorporated. I did not have to install it after my Vista was installed.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :) atomic tofu Microsoft Windows and Software 16 03-19-2008 06:11 PM
Windows Vista SP1 Refresh 2 is Vista SP1 RTM Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-12-2008 03:59 PM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.