Vista and sli - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2007, 12:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Vista and sli

I haven't read much into it, but from what I see Vista as of now doesn't support sli (or nvidia's drivers, whoever is to blame). Anyone else think that's extremely lame?
__________________

__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 12:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista and sli

Your WRONG!!!!

Vista does support SLi. More so than XP. **** Vista can support dual Video cards that DONT match with no issue.

The nVidia drivers are buggy but in no way shape or form does Vista not support SLi. Where ever you heard that it is nothing but a big fat lie. I know several people, myself included who has run SLi, and dual card within Vista with no problem. I know several people that run 2x 8800GTX cards.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 12:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Re: Vista and sli

I installed the latest drivers. The control panel doesn't even acknowledge that sli is possible. In device manager, vista shows both my cards, but one of them shows as not being installed. When I update the driver, and show it where I already have nvidia drivers installed, it says that I have the latest drivers. But nothing has changed. It still shows up as not being installed, and nvidia's control panel still won't let me configure it.
__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 10:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Re: Vista and sli

Ok I just noticed that there is this message in the device description in device manager.

"This device cannot find enough free resources that it can use. (Code 12)

If you want to use this device, you will need to disable one of the other devices on this system."

So it's a completely different problem then I thought... I've never had any problems whatsoever in xp like this, and there certainly are enough resources on my computer to run my other card.
__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 10:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista and sli

What are your video card and what version of Vista are you running? If you have 2 8800 GTX cards at 768MB each and 2GB of RAM while running Vista 32 Bit you will hit the RAM ceiling of 32 Bit. At that point you will need to get 64 Bit Vista to accomidate.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Re: Vista and sli

I have two 256mb 7800 gt's, 2gigs ram and am running Vista business 32bit.
__________________

__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I took the Vista plunge lancec2c30 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 10-22-2007 10:07 PM
semi-final build plan (with some issues) plz giv input Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 10-15-2007 10:03 PM
XP x32 vs. XP x64 vs. Vista.. dcanup Microsoft Windows and Software 5 10-11-2007 07:05 AM
Nvidia Readies New “Ultimate” Technology for Gamers. Deadpixel New Systems | Building and Buying 59 10-03-2007 03:53 PM
Needing Serious Vista Help! Antbrawler Microsoft Windows and Software 4 09-12-2007 05:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.