Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2008, 05:03 AM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsabree View Post
So, whats the main thing that SP1 addresses? I've heard that it helps with startup time, what else?
Vista SP1 Fix List - TheTechArea.com

There is the full list of every KB article that is included in the Vista SP1.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 01:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

go get it
Windows Vista Service Pack 1 stand-alone packages do not contain the updated Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Help files

32
Download details: Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Five Language Standalone (KB936330)
64
Download details: Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Five Language Standalone for x64-based Systems (KB936330)

remember to set aside 1 whole hour 30/30

EDIT: note this suggestion from ms technet
---
Things to know before you download Windows Vista SP1
Published: March 18, 2008
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Microsoft strongly recommends using Windows Update to download and install Windows Vista SP1 on single PCs:
The download size from Windows Update of Windows Vista SP1 for x86 is 65 MB (compared to 450 MB from the Microsoft Download Center).
The download size from Windows Update of Windows Vista SP1 for x64 is 125 MB (compared to 745 MB from the Microsoft Download Center).
Windows Update will recognize PCs with known problematic drivers and postpone downloading Windows Vista SP1 until the PC has updated drivers or other applicable updates. Using Windows Update will help ensure you have the most trouble-free update experience possible.
Some Windows Vista users may encounter an issue with a small set of hardware devices that may not function properly after updating a Windows Vista PC to Windows Vista SP1. This is an issue with the way the device drivers were re-installed during the Windows Vista SP1 update process, not with the drivers themselves—these drivers worked on Windows Vista RTM and they work on Windows Vista SP1. This problem is typically corrected by simply uninstalling and reinstalling the driver. We are working with the manufacturers of these devices to get the known problematic drivers and their install programs updated, and also on other solutions we can use to ensure a smooth customer experience when updating to Windows Vista SP1 using Windows Update. For new PCs provisioned with Windows Vista SP1, this is not an issue.
If you choose to install Windows Vista SP1 via the standalone installer available on the Microsoft Download Center, Microsoft advises that you first visit Windows Update and install all optional drivers. Read Knowledge Base Articles 948187 and 948343 for more information.
If you have a prior version of the Windows Vista SP1 beta installed, you must uninstall it prior to installing the final version. Use the Control Panel applet "Programs and Features" and select "View installed updates" from the top left of the task pane. Under Windows, look for "Service Pack for Windows (KB936330).
---
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 04:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 65
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

Its still not showing up on my Windows Update
__________________
============================================
Dell XPS 720 H2C Edition | Intel QX8650 Quad @ 3.66GHz | 2x Nvidia 8800GTX 768MB In SLi
4096MB 1066MHz DDR2 RAM | 2x 160GB 10,000RPM HDD In Raid0
1KW Dell PSU | Dell 2001FP 1600x1200
============================================
Highest 3DMark06: 17,281
Dell Boi is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 11:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

It isn't for me either... looks like I will just try out the standalone installer.

Good god, you think with all this money and time they could get the first service pack available to everyone at the same time
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 11:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsabree View Post
It isn't for me either... looks like I will just try out the standalone installer.

Good god, you think with all this money and time they could get the first service pack available to everyone at the same time
There would be no way possible. I mean there is not enough bandwidth leaving Microsoft in order to allow for every single Vista user to download it at the same time.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 11:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

Very true, never thought that.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 06:11 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
aeroplane22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 81
Send a message via Yahoo to aeroplane22
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

Microsoft made a comment on why it is not available to everyone through Automatic Updating and they answered by saying that during the SP1 Beta testing, several testers experienced issues with certain unlicensed device drivers. So to resolve the issue, automatic updating will detect if you have these issues, if you do you would have to manually install SP1. Which basically requires you to be tech savvy enough to understand the issue with your potential hardware conflict. This is so they don't undermine the general users computer if they do have these certain drivers. It is available to anyone now anyway.
__________________

aeroplane22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd HijackThis Log File xXxexpertxXx HijackThis Logs (finished) 30 03-10-2008 06:24 AM
HijackThis log file oobern HijackThis Logs (finished) 13 03-03-2008 09:20 PM
Major virus problem (hijackthis log) lancec2c30 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 08-30-2007 12:29 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.