Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2008, 11:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

you guys will get the official all access one soon I would think

But I figure I post something that addresses the 4gb ram thing. Bear in mind, this is a 32bit environment and not a Vista/Win/MS problem.

Vista could see the extra ram all along, but couldn't really report it, now it simply reports it.



junky ati drivers


atomic pc

sysinfo


the size of MY service pack files, not sure if the ones released will be smaller:

__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

Yes it finally reports it. But you still cant use it.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 04:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

nope but I think it will appease some, lol
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 04:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

It may make some people assume they get all their ram
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

Woot, red X's galore. I love websense. Blocks imageshack.

And yes, this is why i bought vista 64
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 06:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

sp1, old news
ECTech is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 06:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ECTech View Post
sp1, old news
Only a month or two old...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 06:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

:P
feh, it's not like it's leaked or anything for me...It's my official access versions
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 11:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

So, whats the main thing that SP1 addresses? I've heard that it helps with startup time, what else?
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 12:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsabree View Post
So, whats the main thing that SP1 addresses? I've heard that it helps with startup time, what else?
Windows Vista - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd HijackThis Log File xXxexpertxXx HijackThis Logs (finished) 30 03-10-2008 06:24 AM
HijackThis log file oobern HijackThis Logs (finished) 13 03-03-2008 09:20 PM
Major virus problem (hijackthis log) lancec2c30 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 08-30-2007 12:29 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.