Vista seems to be crapping out - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2007, 03:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SCRANTON, PA
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to Milliteq_CEO Send a message via Yahoo to Milliteq_CEO
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

And, what is Desktop Windows Manager?
__________________

__________________
Signature privledges removed for rule violations.

~Mak213
Milliteq_CEO is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 03:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

Quote:
Originally Posted by Milliteq_CEO View Post
well, shouldn't these "new age" computers be able to handle FF, WMP, and IE at once? i mean, christ what is the point of paying so much money for garbage?
IT all depends. You specs could be lower end for Vista. So yeah it would adversly affect the system and slow it down. Spending all sorts of $$ on a PC doesnt mean you get the best. Jsut means you paid more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Milliteq_CEO View Post
And, what is Desktop Windows Manager?
It is exactly what it sounds like. That is what control Aero. Turn off Aero and that number will go down.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 03:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SCRANTON, PA
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to Milliteq_CEO Send a message via Yahoo to Milliteq_CEO
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

Is Vista supposed to Blue Screen?
__________________
Signature privledges removed for rule violations.

~Mak213
Milliteq_CEO is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 03:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

my system runs multiple apps fine, no bogging, and it's average by "today's" standards.
I hear Vista blue screens, but haven't seen it yet. The blue screen is just an error display report...but for the life of me, haven't seen it while running Vista.

I'm sure if you OC you'll encounter error screens, as well as relying on crappy companies that produce junk software and drivers.

no MS does not produce junk software, yes my opinion but...people use their stuff for a reason, it's good!

Screens of death - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 04:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SCRANTON, PA
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to Milliteq_CEO Send a message via Yahoo to Milliteq_CEO
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

Well, it comes up with a blue screen and that;s it... then it restarts... happened about 4-5 times since yesterday.
__________________
Signature privledges removed for rule violations.

~Mak213
Milliteq_CEO is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 09:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

Can you see a stop error code at all? If not turn off the auto restart upon crash so we can get the stop error code and start figuring out what is going wrong.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 01:36 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SCRANTON, PA
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to Milliteq_CEO Send a message via Yahoo to Milliteq_CEO
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

I have no clue how to do that. haha
Can ya tell me how?
__________________
Signature privledges removed for rule violations.

~Mak213
Milliteq_CEO is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 09:59 AM   #18 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

Start>Right click on computer>Properties>Advance Tab>Startup and Recovery>Uncheck the Automatically Restart box and click Okay.

This will prevent Windows from restarting upon a crash so that we can get the Stop Error code.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 10:39 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SCRANTON, PA
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to Milliteq_CEO Send a message via Yahoo to Milliteq_CEO
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

it BSed again, but it didn't have naything on it... it was just blue. the thing that pops up whne you have an unexpected ****down came up and under more details said:
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 1000008e
BCP1: C0000005
BCP2: 82276241
BCP3: B00B1BD4
BCP4: 00000000
OS Version: 6_0_6000
Service Pack: 0_0
Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini010108-01.dmp
C:\Users\Kath\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-91603-0.sysdata.xml
C:\Users\Kath\AppData\Local\Temp\WER4CA8.tmp.versi on.txt
__________________
Signature privledges removed for rule violations.

~Mak213
Milliteq_CEO is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 10:50 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

go to start, run, type msconfig, press enter. Go to startup. Is everything in thre checked? If so how many are checked?

This seems to be a common problem with no solution from what I see.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Issue - Nero caused Blue Screen... Vista won't load now. Mantis-X Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-03-2007 05:11 PM
Download Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Beta Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-14-2007 11:57 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.