Vista seems to be crapping out - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2007, 10:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SCRANTON, PA
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to Milliteq_CEO Send a message via Yahoo to Milliteq_CEO
Default Vista seems to be crapping out

OK, well I have a Dell XPS 400, Windows Vista Home Premium, Pentium D 3.20 Ghz, 1022 MB RAM.

It always freezes and it is getting ridiculous. I did a spyware check about 1000 times, following the directions one of the threads here and found no spyware. I defragged it a bunch of times but that isn't doing anything..

Please help a n00b out. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Signature privledges removed for rule violations.

~Mak213
Milliteq_CEO is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 10:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

So what is it doing? Cant answer if you dont saw what is wrong. Did you install bad drivers or software that isnt Vista compatible?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 11:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SCRANTON, PA
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to Milliteq_CEO Send a message via Yahoo to Milliteq_CEO
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

It just freezes constantly. Sometimes one after another... it usually takes about 2 minutes for the computer to respond.
__________________
Signature privledges removed for rule violations.

~Mak213
Milliteq_CEO is offline  
Old 11-28-2007, 06:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

What applicaitons are you running when it freezes?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-28-2007, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

did a search
Live Search: Dell

is dell service that bad?

The xps 400 is about 2 years old? This a legit Vista you are using?
might have to do a memory test check

also, not just defrag but run chkdsk yet?
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 11-28-2007, 12:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

Its a dell. It could be either the memory or the hard drive. Dell uses utter crap for both of those parts.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-28-2007, 03:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Its a dell. It could be either the memory or the hard drive. Dell uses utter crap for both of those parts.
Its not that bad. Ihave a Dimension 8400 and my HDD is going just fine. I have replaced my RAM though.:laughing:
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 09:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SCRANTON, PA
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to Milliteq_CEO Send a message via Yahoo to Milliteq_CEO
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

FireFox, Windows Media Player 11, and Azureus, most of the time... Occasionally my mom will have IE up too.
__________________
Signature privledges removed for rule violations.

~Mak213
Milliteq_CEO is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 09:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

It could be that you have to much running at the same time and it bogs the system down.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 03:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SCRANTON, PA
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to Milliteq_CEO Send a message via Yahoo to Milliteq_CEO
Default Re: Vista seems to be crapping out

well, shouldn't these "new age" computers be able to handle FF, WMP, and IE at once? i mean, christ what is the point of paying so much money for garbage?
__________________

__________________
Signature privledges removed for rule violations.

~Mak213
Milliteq_CEO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Issue - Nero caused Blue Screen... Vista won't load now. Mantis-X Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-03-2007 05:11 PM
Download Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Beta Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-14-2007 11:57 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.