Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2007, 01:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong?

I just installed 8800GTS 320MB and downloaded the latest driver for Vista 32bit from NVIDIA's website. In the adapter section it shows the following:

Chip Type: GeForce 8800GTS
DAC Type: Integrated RAMDAC
Adapter String: GeForce 8800 GTS
Bios Information: Versio 60.80.d.0.1

Total Available Graphics Memory: 1023 MB
Dedicated Video Memory: 256 MB
System Video Memory: 0 MB
Shared System Memory: 767 MB
----------------

Now when I dual boot into XP and install the latest XP driver, it shows this:

Chip Type: GeForce 8800GTS
DAC Type: Integrated RAMDAC
Memory Size: 320 MB
Adapter String: GeForce 8800 GTS
Bios Information: Version 60.80.0D.00.01

---------------------

Does that mean that Vista is not seeing the card memory as it should? Before this I had GeForce 6800GT 256MB, and I uninstalled the driver using windows control panel before installing the new one, could it be that it is not completely gone or something? I know Vista reports video memory differently from XP, but I would think that the 320MB would show up somewhere...

Also, the card works just fine. I played Company of Heroes that came with the card, and the game worked fine on my system, getting well over 30FPS with everything at max, with AA turned on at 1600x1200.

Anyone have any ideas? Thanks.
__________________

phexac is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 12:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default Re: Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong?

Has nVidia got non-bugged drivers for Vista yet? Last I heard nVidia drivers weren't completely compatible with Vista.
__________________

__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 12:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default Re: Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong?

Also, try going to an older version of the Driver (One stepback, and see if that works or not.
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.