Vista Runas - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2007, 04:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Vista Runas

I'm trying to run an .msi file as an administrator. Can someone tell me how to do that in Vista (Basic)?
__________________

__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 05:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista Runas

Right click on the file. There is a option in there. Run as administrator should be right there.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 05:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: Vista Runas

I remember seeing that before, but I'm not seeing it on this MSI file. I also tried creating a shortcut and right clicking that. But I don't see it there either.
__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 06:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista Runas

That is wierd. I have never come across this before. Only thing i can think of is try Safe Mode. Other than that you would have to hack the system into allowing the Admin account but then you would always have that account active and there is not turning back after you do that.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 07:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Vista Runas

if it's anything like XP, you can open a command prompt as administrator, then type this
Code:
msiexec /i "path to msi file.msi"
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 07:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: Vista Runas

I found a registry hack that seems to work well. But thanks for the help anyway.
__________________

__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista Transformation Pack 7.0 Released Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 11 06-27-2007 10:48 PM
Linux and Vista dual-boot Mike9182 Linux and Open Source 1 06-26-2007 07:53 PM
Vista and MSI K8N Neo 2 Motherboard Harper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-26-2007 09:40 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.