Vista RC1 on Toshiba Satellite - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2006, 11:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Default Vista RC1 on Toshiba Satellite

I'm trying to install Windows Vista RC1 (32-bit version) on a Toshiba Satellite A105-S4064. Everything goes great until it actually starts installing and about half way through the screen goes blank and never returns. I left it over night and in the morning the screen was still blank. Then when I restart the computer it rolls back the installation. I have tried installing this with 2 separate burns of the Vista download. Any suggestions? Or is this Satellite just not compatible?

PS: I've tried doing both the upgrade and the full install. Neither work.

Specs:
Intel Core Solo T1350 CPU, 512MB DDR2 PC4200, Graphics Media Accelerator 950, Built-in Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG. Can't think of anything else that is relevant, just ask if there is. Thanks for the help!
__________________

gadgetloser is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Forgot to mention one thing, the laptop does display the "Designed for Windows XP/Windows Vista Capable" logo. Please help! Thank you!
__________________

gadgetloser is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 01:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Okay first things first. How did you burn the images? Did you burn them at full speed? If so i would gather that is your problem. It is recommended that you burn the images at about 6x or so. Yes it takes longer but it also allows for the best burn possible.

So far it sounds like a corrupted burn to me.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 01:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Actually I thought of that already. The first one I burned at 4x, the second one I burned at 2.4x. I installed Vista fine on my desktop using this same DVD, so I don't think the image burn is the problem.

I've been reading around a lot and it seems that almost all Toshiba laptops with the GMA950 graphics are doing this. If that's the problem has anyone figured it out yet?
gadgetloser is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 06:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Corrupted driver.

That would be what is happening. When it tries to find the drivers it gets stuck since the driver support is junk.

Sadly there is nothing that can be done as of right now. Gonna have to wait for a new Vista build to be released to get it installed on the laptop.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.