Vista Ram Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2008, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 299
Default Vista Ram Question

I have read around alot about how much Vista Home Premium allows for ram. I am talking about the 32 bit version because i am assuming that is what Dell is going to give me when I order my laptop. So I am wondering how much Ram does Vista Home Premium (32 Bit) allow? I have heard 3 gig and 4 gig but I would really like to know which since there is about a $50 difference when ordering the lappy and every dollar counts lol

Would hate to order 4 gig when I can only use 3 and find out Dell is just offering 4 to make more money.
__________________

Millenniumtiger is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 12:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Vista Ram Question

All 32bit OS's can only read 3-3.5GB of RAM (including video RAM). I have 4GB installed (4x1GB) in this system, with XP 32bit, and it recognizes 3.5GB.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-23-2008, 01:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista Ram Question

Difference Between 32 Bit (x86) and 64 Bit (x64)

Read in there. That will give you the full explination as to why ALL 32 Bit systems are subject to the 3.5GB Limit.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ram question spacehxc Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-19-2008 03:02 PM
Windows Vista RAM Deelow02 Microsoft Windows and Software 13 02-14-2008 03:26 PM
Windows Vista Alt+Tab Question bobafett573 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 12-08-2007 03:58 PM
Dual boot Question with Vista and XP (help appreciated) Deadpixel Microsoft Windows and Software 12 06-29-2007 07:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.