Vista Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2006, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Default Vista Question

I have a 2.6ghz HT processor and 512 mb RAM

Will I be able to run Vista Build 5270 on this computer, and will it be compatible with XP computers on a network in my house?
__________________

ltjdangle911 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 10:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

After a quick search I found this

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...nts#post571730



Edit: As I look back at the older post it seems I was correct about Vista not having P2P built in as it was actually person to person a messenger app...
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 02:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

ltjdangle911 you should be able to run Vista build 5270. Be warned as it might slow down a bit with only 512MB RAM.

@Tyler that makes no sense. With MSN Messenger (WLM) why would they only allow it to be a messenger application? That just makes no sense to me. No one is going to jump from WLM or any other messenger to another new one. Heck Google Talk is having a hard time getting off the ground.

Also Tyler why do you have a link to Thurrott in you sig? He info is so off key that it isnt even worth it. He isnt among the elite anymore with M$. He has fallen from grace. Also he lastest news about Vista was way off. Saying that Beta 2 wouldnt hit till March or whatever he said. I dont even pay attention anymore. Just wanted to ask.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 01:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Ya it should run fine, i run vista on a 500mhz computer with 192mb ram. I'm not sure about the network though
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 06:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikee
Ya it should run fine, i run vista on a 500mhz computer with 192mb ram. I'm not sure about the network though
Thats not true.....


Vista follows XPs standards and will not allow installs if your under 256 RAM as I ran into conflicts on my old PC under a Virtual PC. What version did you do this on?
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 07:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

XP install on 8MHz and 64MB of RAM, and it runs on 8MHz and 20MB of RAM. Minimum system requirements are always overrated. I am sure Vista will run on very low specs, way lower that "recommended", just like all other Windows versions did.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 11:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Default

I have installed drivers for my sound card and restarted, however there is no sound coming from my computer when I run Vista. What's going on?
ltjdangle911 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 04:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You will have to wait for Service Pack 1, lol
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 06:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

What sound card do you have? Not all sound card drivers are supported in Vista. They may install but they dont all work correctly. I would put on an MP3 or something and switch the input on the back to see if the sound is coming out a differnt port. I knwo with my sound card i had to use the Microphone output to hear anything in Vista insta of the normal one tha i used for XP.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 04:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Default

it is Realtek 97 or something integrated onto an Asus IS7 mobo

edit: i got it working now
__________________

ltjdangle911 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.