vista problem - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2007, 08:44 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: vista problem

yeah that looks more like it. Thank you so much I just have to wait until my uploaded file is done uploading so I can reboot into vista ultimate.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 09:27 PM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: vista problem

the color schemes are windows vista basic, windows standard, windows classic, high contrast white, high contrast black, high contrast #2 in that order there is no Windows Aero in the appearance settings. Could I have somehow deleted that?

call me a vista nooby I just figured out that vista has a media center edition.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 06:44 AM   #23 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: vista problem

My best suggestion is that you somehow deleted the Aero theme. You did say you were messing with the msconfig. So you can either try to reverse it, delete your drivers and see if a reinstall of the drivers will give you the option back. Try to recover or format and reinstall.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 12:03 PM   #24 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: vista problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by team 1203 4 life View Post
your first problem was upgrading to vista it sucks go back to xp pro
have you ever used vista?

you have just read articles on the internet about it havnt you, its the best OS microsoft have relased

in conclusion your an idiot
Nick is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 05:28 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default Re: vista problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
have you ever used vista?

you have just read articles on the internet about it havnt you, its the best OS microsoft have relased

in conclusion your an idiot
+1
I like vista much more than XP and have had no problems with it.
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 07:33 PM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: vista problem

Did you guys here that people are complaining to dell about vista sucking and now dell is using xp again?

oh and check out this shirt unless you like vista.

ShirtADay
Norcent is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 12:29 PM   #27 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: vista problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by kfc469 View Post
+1
I like vista much more than XP and have had no problems with it.
yup i agree
Nick is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 02:35 PM   #28 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: vista problem

vista is ok
its just the memory hogging that bothers me i have 4gb's of ram but its still the point that its eating resources
people still bi+** about sound card problems but creative has released drivers for vista working ones. and now most programs i use support vista such as nero alcohol 120. its just my emulators that have sound problems and most programs that dont work on vista can be put under compatability mode and then they will ork most of the time. So vista doesn't suck its just not the best thing since sliced bread
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 03:20 PM   #29 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: vista problem

i do admit it hogs memory but then what do you expect?
Nick is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 06:51 PM   #30 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: vista problem

RAM is wasted and completely useless if it is not being used. The matter isn't how much RAM the OS is using, but rather what it is using it for and whether it is being used effectively. Grasp a better understanding of the concept of caching.

Quote:
Article: http://www.ditii.com/blog/2007/04/14...ch-readyboost/

SuperFetch is an enhancement of the Prefetcher that you have probably seen mentioned in previous versions of Windows. The Prefetcher is in charge of storing program information so that often-used programs and processes can run faster. In Vista, the Prefetcher has been tweaked and changed to be much more aggressive and intelligent in its caching to give even greater performance. This new functionality is called SuperFetch...

...You may have noticed that Vista tends to use a much greater percentage of system RAM than on Windows XP...

...Many people tend to think of RAM as some sort of resource, and when it starts getting used up, they believe that they have a problem. In reality however, RAM is more like a cache. If your system is only using a small percentage of your cache is a huge waste. Imagine how your processor would work if its L2 cache never used more than 25% of its capacity. L2 cache is a small amount of high-speed memory that allows for high-speed access to the system's most commonly accessed data.

In previous versions of Windows, the Prefetcher wasn’t very aggressive in populating RAM. With Windows Vista however, SuperFetch tries its best to use as much RAM as it can, because if you have it you might as well make use of it.
Further reading material:

Top Tip: Windows Vista using too much of my RAM?

Coding Horror: Why Does Vista Use All My Memory?

Windows Vista's SuperFetch and ReadyBoost Analyzed | Tom's Hardware UK and Ireland
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista User account control and software problem souschef Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-01-2007 05:20 PM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM
WOW Patching 1.12.0 Problem Vista gmanych PC Gaming 1 04-23-2007 08:49 AM
Vista Problem SpannerMagnet Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-19-2007 02:15 PM
Vista install Xandrex New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-05-2007 04:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.