Vista or not? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2006, 09:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default Vista or not?

is this picture visa or not?

http://www.eraserinc.com/ihs/images/wIB14392.jpg

ironicly, the slight transparency reduces contrast thus the irony in the phrase "Vista brings clarity to your world"

I'm not impressed...

well... back to the question "vista or not?"
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 09:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

That's a skin for Vista. Vista has a search feature right in the start menu. The whole window in that screen is transparent. With Vista, only the window borders can be transparent. I like the looks and new features Vista is going to have.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 09:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

lol, yea... here's where I got it...

http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/...ion-Pack.shtml
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 11:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

That isnt Vista. That is a Vista skin for XP. Easiest way to tell. The Start Menu. It doesnt have the search box o it. That is a new feature.

The Vista Trans pack is good. But i think that the Windowsblinds skins are much better. Give an overall better conversion of XP to Vista look alike.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 11:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default

i like that Vista is so nice looking, and it has a few good functions at hand. My hope is that it will be able to detect its own mistakes....i hate when explorer crashes....
__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 12:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

That is most likely a Windows XP theme, the term "My"(My Documents, My computer) are not in Vista.
__________________
Asus Board
AMD X2 4400
2GB OCZ Platinum
I-RAM 4GB
Raptor 150GB
Caviar 320GB SATA2
Asus 7800GTX
SUSE 10.0 64Bit-WindowsXP x64-Vista 5270 64Bit
Jason S is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 12:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

really?

so... they're just documents and computer.....

where's the fun in that...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 07:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
That isnt Vista. That is a Vista skin for XP. Easiest way to tell. The Start Menu. It doesnt have the search box o it. That is a new feature.

The Vista Trans pack is good. But i think that the Windowsblinds skins are much better. Give an overall better conversion of XP to Vista look alike.
Im not saying your wrong but I got the off a Vista forum somewhere, I posted that a few weeks ago.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 08:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Okay to prove my point i will show you.



Okay that is an older build of Vista. Notice the Start Menu with the search bar?



There is a shot of XP. I just took that. Notice that the Start Menu just has a blank space where Vista has the search menu? That is because that is actually where the Log Off and Turn Off buttons are actually located.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 08:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

I see now. I wasnt saying that u were wrong or anything, I was just curious...
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.