Vista Licencing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2006, 05:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 128
Default Vista Licencing

I have 1 PC on which I have genuine version XP installed. Next year when Vista comes out I want to build another PC for my kid. If I buy a Vista at the store, can I install one copy on two computers under one License? Not sure how M$ checks for the genuine product, but both product will be connected to the same internet connection and should have identical IP address.

Or

Do I have to buy another license?
__________________

suppafreak is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 05:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

You will not be able to install and have both PC's activated with just 1 License. You will have to buy a 2nd license.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 05:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 128
Default

Will there be a discount for a 2nd license?
suppafreak is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 05:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Cant tell you for sure. That all depends on how M$ plans on going aobut situations like this. In all seriousness it might be able to be done. Since Vista isnt gonna be released till Jan there is no way for sure to tell how the Licensing will work right now.

It should allow you to install on 2 machines. But if it allows for both machines to be active is another story. You can use it to install for sure. But active i dont know. For the answer we will just have to wait till Jan when it gets released.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 05:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 128
Default

Thanks
suppafreak is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 11:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Default

You wont be able to do it with regular home licensing, and Vista doesn't have any corporate keys which will permanently activate it. You will need to buy another license at full price. There are no discounts for multiple PC's unless you do Volume licensing like businesses do which require you to buy 25 or more. And that option is only available with Windows Vista Business/Enterprise editions.
__________________

__________________
Joe
<a href=\"http://www.technogab.com\">Technogab Podcast</a>
<a href=\"http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcast?id=196334747\">Subscribe via Itunes</a>
<a href=\"http://feeds.feedburner.com/technogab/feed\"><img src=\"http://feeds.feedburner.com/technogab/feed.gif\" style=\"border:0\" alt=\"TechnoGab Podcast\"/></a>
technogab is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.