is Vista Home DVD Retail Bootable - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2008, 12:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Default is Vista Home DVD Retail Bootable

First thank you for your patience. I am pretty new to the whole computer building scene. I ordered a PC with all the hardware installed, including a HDD that is "Pre-Formatted" with no operating system installed on it.(obviously)

My question is: Is the Windows Vista DVD retail software that you would buy in a computer supply store able to boot from CD. and Have me set a partition aside for the OS. Then continue with installation. If this is not the case, how would I go about getting Vista installed on this machine.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

dlchurch21 is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 12:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: is Vista Home DVD Retail Bootable

Yes, it's suppose to or else you can't install Windows.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 12:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: is Vista Home DVD Retail Bootable

Thank you for your quick reply on that one.
dlchurch21 is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 12:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: is Vista Home DVD Retail Bootable

No problem.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Home Premium toxicity_27 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 12-16-2007 10:06 PM
DVD RW not recognised by Vista istanbul05 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-24-2007 05:01 AM
Vista Home Premium Q's PC_Caveman Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-09-2007 11:13 PM
Vista Home Premium or XP MCE? Flame Hawk New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-26-2007 03:43 PM
New Build Invisible New Systems | Building and Buying 24 06-19-2007 08:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.