Vista help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2007, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default Vista help

I'm getting upset with my laptop now. My first problems occurred when the touch pad started screwing up. I can't scroll horizontally or vertically, and it won't let me go into the mouse settings because it can't contact the device driver. Then when I go to download the drivers from Dell and the touchpad manufacturer, i get Invalid Win32 Application error.

The second problem is Security Center won't turn on.

I'm gonna check for virus' here, but I just wanted to get some insight from you guys if there's some random flaw with Vista that I don't know about. Any suggestions are appreciated.

[EDIT] I get invalid Win32 error with msconfig as well. WTF?!
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 09:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista help

No there is no random flaw in Vista. Something happen to you machine. Did you burn the recovery disc? Have you tried Safe Mode?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 09:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default Re: Vista help

All my exe's work just fine in Safe Mode. Something is messing it up in normal mode.

I REALLY don't wanna reformat. I'm in college and swamped because I'm behind in some of my classes. I need my laptop to be functional because it's my current method of taking notes in class, and my only method of writing papers.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 10:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista help

Ok did you install anything before this happened? What was teh last thing you installed? What were you doing before this happened?

Something has to of gotten corrupted since the Security Center wont load. Also with you touch pad going that isnt a good sign either. My laptop is a Dell as well with Vista and i have not come across any of these issues.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 10:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default Re: Vista help

It seems like it's just any exe in Normal Mode that won't load. Last program(s) I installed was probably Steam and Azureus.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 10:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista help

Well i have installed Steam several times with no issue. The only thing i could think of then would be Azureus. I use uTorrent so i cant confirm if it was Azureus or not.

Have you installed the SP1 Beta?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 10:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default Re: Vista help

Nope to the SP1 Beta. I really think that it is some sort of virus/malware. The problem is I can't install any kind of antivirus to check the **** thing. I can't even use TrendMicro's HouseCall or Bitdefender's online scanner. I'm beyond screwed at this point I think.

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 10:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista help

IF you cant use any online scanner then yeah i would have to say you are up the creek without the paddle.

Did you create a recovery disc from the recovery partition that comes on teh Dell laptops? Cause if not this will make it even harder to try and fix this issue.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 10:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default Re: Vista help

I didn't even know about the recovery disc. How do I create one?

If I can't get the recovery disc, I can always go home next weekend and grab the image I created of this hard drive with Nortan Ghost.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 10:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista help

Honestly i dont know. I do know that Dell's should have a recovery partition. Which is a direct copy of the install drive. Mine came with one. Do you see it when you click on Computer?

If not what size hard drive did you get with your laptop and is it all used? If so then yous didnt come with a recovery partition. If not then the partition is hidden.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Download Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Beta Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-14-2007 11:57 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Linux and Vista dual-boot Mike9182 Linux and Open Source 1 06-26-2007 07:53 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.