Vista doesnt like Xfire :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2008, 03:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default Vista doesnt like Xfire :(

Xfire won't update when I'm in vista. I'm not sure what to do. Suggestions?

~thanks
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 04:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Eric1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 388
Default Re: Vista doesnt like Xfire :(

Vista doesn't like anything. I know this will not help.
__________________

__________________
"How May I Misdirect Your Posts Today"
My Rig: A.K.A. My Little China Girl
Intel quad core q6600 2.4 Ghz
8GB G.Skill PC26400 DDR2 800Mhz
EVGA 8800GT 512
Raidmax Smilodon case
Thermaltake 700Watt Power
Gigabyte 965P-DS3 S-Series
Western Digital 500GB SATA
Audiology 2 ZS Creative sound card
ViewSonic 22" Widescreen display
Windows XP 64



Eric1 is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 04:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Vista doesnt like Xfire :(

From what i have found, it does work...maybe this will help?

Xfire

EDIT: Read your post wrong, nothing to do with updating...SORRY!

2nd EDIT: Do you get any error messages?
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 04:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Vista doesnt like Xfire :(

Vista likes me, that's cuz I'm hawt
that didn't help...but I am hawt

what doesn't help is I'm one of the few who apparently doesn't use xfire, lol
another xfire forum link that suggests it does indeed work in Vista
Xfire
general xfire and vista
Xfire - FAQ
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 06:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Vista doesnt like Xfire :(

Works fine for me...

Are you using the newest version? Are you running it with admin privileges?

Here we go with the anti-Vista posts again ...I'm getting pretty sick of em.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 07:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Vista doesnt like Xfire :(

Do you have a firewall on that's blocking XFire from updating?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 03-03-2008, 07:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Eric1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 388
Default Re: Vista doesnt like Xfire :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalOwns View Post
Works fine for me...

Are you using the newest version? Are you running it with admin privileges?

Here we go with the anti-Vista posts again ...I'm getting pretty sick of em.
I am not anti vista. I use it on a regular basis but I have my problems. As all new operating systems have their problems my little problems will eventually work out. SP2 maybe. You sound like you know vista very well, maybe you can help me with by sound blaster XFI audio card not working with vista? My computer reboots continually when I pop it in. Maybe I should start a new thread for this.
__________________
"How May I Misdirect Your Posts Today"
My Rig: A.K.A. My Little China Girl
Intel quad core q6600 2.4 Ghz
8GB G.Skill PC26400 DDR2 800Mhz
EVGA 8800GT 512
Raidmax Smilodon case
Thermaltake 700Watt Power
Gigabyte 965P-DS3 S-Series
Western Digital 500GB SATA
Audiology 2 ZS Creative sound card
ViewSonic 22" Widescreen display
Windows XP 64



Eric1 is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 07:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Vista doesnt like Xfire :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric1 View Post
Maybe I should start a new thread for this.
That would be wise .
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 03-03-2008, 08:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista doesnt like Xfire :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric1 View Post
I am not anti vista. I use it on a regular basis but I have my problems. As all new operating systems have their problems my little problems will eventually work out. SP2 maybe. You sound like you know vista very well, maybe you can help me with by sound blaster XFI audio card not working with vista? My computer reboots continually when I pop it in. Maybe I should start a new thread for this.
My buddy uses a X-Fi card and the newest drivers dont give him any issues. try them.

As for the first issue it would have to be firewall related as XFire has updated on my Vista without a problem.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 08:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Eric1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 388
Default Re: Vista doesnt like Xfire :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
My buddy uses a X-Fi card and the newest drivers dont give him any issues. try them.

As for the first issue it would have to be firewall related as XFire has updated on my Vista without a problem.
Cool. I will try that then. Thanks:happy:
__________________

__________________
"How May I Misdirect Your Posts Today"
My Rig: A.K.A. My Little China Girl
Intel quad core q6600 2.4 Ghz
8GB G.Skill PC26400 DDR2 800Mhz
EVGA 8800GT 512
Raidmax Smilodon case
Thermaltake 700Watt Power
Gigabyte 965P-DS3 S-Series
Western Digital 500GB SATA
Audiology 2 ZS Creative sound card
ViewSonic 22" Widescreen display
Windows XP 64



Eric1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
Microsoft offers a Vista two-for deal Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 8 01-01-2008 04:17 PM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.