Vista doesn't like firefox - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2007, 02:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default Vista doesn't like firefox

Half the pages I load with firefox on Vista do this weird thing where they shake (up and down).
I mean, what. the. ****. My computer seriously looks like it's having a seizure.
It doesn't crash or anything, and it goes away if I refresh most of the time,
but this seems like a M$ ploy to make us use IE.
or maybe mine is just screwed up.
anyone else have this problem?

GageMW is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Vista doesn't like firefox

Its just your machine, have you reinstalled it yet?

Osiris is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Re: Vista doesn't like firefox


I had this problem when I first installed Firefox on Vista, though it was an older build of Firefox 2. I found that displaying the bookmarks toolbar stopped the page from shaking up and down.

The newest stable version of Firefox is Have you installed the newest version?

|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 03:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
fixal0t's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default Re: Vista doesn't like firefox

firefox will put out a new version to correct bugs
just give'em a little time
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 04:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
ben_ben's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 350
Default Re: Vista doesn't like firefox

i had this problem too
i think it might be you video card drivers but i cant remember 100%
ben_ben is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 09:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
mssssee2's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: Vista doesn't like firefox

Re : Vista doesn't like FireFox

Neither do I!

Mike from Greece, 14
mssssee2 is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 09:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
baronvongogo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default Re: Vista doesn't like firefox

I have no problems using the latest firefox in vista, I also have no problems with vista runs all my apps and games so im happy. Sure there are a few niggles like having to do run as admin to get somethings to install or even run but give it time.
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 10:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default Re: Vista doesn't like firefox

I like vista, just a few annoying bugs.
Yea I am running, I'll try the bookmarks thing.
I have to say, DreamScene is sick, I can't go back to XP. (even if does create minor slowdown, which is pretty good for a 3 year old system)
GageMW is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 10:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default Re: Vista doesn't like firefox

Did you say displaying the toolbar worked for you?
Getting rid of it just stopped it for me.
huh. =/
M$ has a sense of humor after all.

GageMW is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 02:12 PM
Firefox Also Vulnerable To .ANI Exploits Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 1 04-06-2007 12:14 PM
Vista install Xandrex New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-05-2007 03:49 PM
do i need to back up tablet specific drivers when upgrading from vista RC2 to vista rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-05-2007 04:05 AM
Vista & my Wireless Network motoxer4533 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-31-2007 07:58 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.