Vista detects illegal software? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2007, 01:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Vista detects illegal software?

Vista detects illegal software? Ok... if this is the case... then why can't we simply install vista on a partitioned drive and have everything else on the other drive... wouldn't that fix the problem?
__________________

__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 02:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Vista detects illegal software?

Vista detects illegal software...?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 03:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Re: Vista detects illegal software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alvin.C View Post
Vista detects illegal software...?
Exactly my thoughts.

Unless you are not installing it with Vista, it will still be installed onto Vista's registry so it will still "detect" it.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 04:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 137
Default Re: Vista detects illegal software?

I remember back when I worked for HP about a year or so before vista was released, one of the engineers told me about a vista feature called "Paladin".
Now, i'm not sure if he was lying or just BSing me, but it did seem entirely possible that it could be done.

What he told me, was that vista was going to have anti piracy protection. It would activly scan the system, and when it detected pirated software, it would uninstall it. Not only that, but supposedly paladin was going to somehow be able to contact the makers of the software to let them know that you were pirating the software.


Since that conversation, i've heard very little about vista's anti piracy stuff.

Even still, if such a program as paladin existed, i'm sure that people would figure out how to disable it soon enough. Or if not, i'm sure that somebody out there would make a virus exploiting it.
Lorithad is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 08:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista detects illegal software?

Windows Vista allows you to isntall anything. It is the software that will detect if it is illegal or not. It will have activation methods on it such as Windows does. Alcohol 120% has it as well. Where you have to activate it to run it. Adobe has it with CS2. Those are program specific. Not OS specific.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 09:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Vista detects illegal software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorithad View Post
I remember back when I worked for HP about a year or so before vista was released, one of the engineers told me about a vista feature called "Paladin".
Now, i'm not sure if he was lying or just BSing me, but it did seem entirely possible that it could be done.

What he told me, was that vista was going to have anti piracy protection. It would activly scan the system, and when it detected pirated software, it would uninstall it. Not only that, but supposedly paladin was going to somehow be able to contact the makers of the software to let them know that you were pirating the software.


Since that conversation, i've heard very little about vista's anti piracy stuff.

Even still, if such a program as paladin existed, i'm sure that people would figure out how to disable it soon enough. Or if not, i'm sure that somebody out there would make a virus exploiting it.
he wasn't BSing.

Vista just haven't implement it yet. they are more worried about selling vista now. if they implemented it now, everybody would run back to xp and sells would suffer.

they will start using the feature in a couple of years when they have already made most of their money and sells start to decline. if you notice now, a lot of cracks and keygens won't work already.

I've been telling people of this feature for 2 years now (twice, I posted links about it), but nobody seems to listen to me. that's why I use a dual boot system. I'm not putting too much stuff on vista. I keep my not so legal activities on xp
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 10:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista detects illegal software?

I have been able to use many not so legal things on Vista with no problem. It is just the KeyGens and hacks that dont work on Vista. Which there is one out there that does.

So if they have the technology to prevent things from running on Vista i am sure companies like Adobe and others would be pressuring them to implement it to prevent things like CS3 from being pirated already.

I have read your articles and while i do agree with some of the stuff. Some of it is still rubbish. Vista is very well protected. That much is clear and since many of the hackers cant get the keygens and other workarounds working on it they start this talk. OS X was the same way when it was strictly on PowerPC CPU's. But yet no one ever said anything back then.

I dual boot only cause i have some games that run better on XP. Plus with my free copy of MCE i have to use it. I have yet to see any evidence that Vista will prevent pirated software from working. I have been testing this out since July 2005 and have not found anything yet. Almost 2 full years and still no hard evidence that this is to come. Even today as i know people use pirated Vista. et they are still able to run many pirated applications.

I will have to see this come to be. Till then i still call it hogwash. As i have personally been able to do everything i want with Vista.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 11:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Vista detects illegal software?

just think about it. it make no sense for them to use it now. they would lose millions of dollars. they done this before



I know you don't remember in 2002 or 2003 which MS shut down thousand of computers that it deemed had pirated copies of xp. the problem was that they locked up thousand of legit computer too. this resulted in all type of catastrophies including fires and electrical outages.

they later blamed everything on a virus (msblast).

I remember. I also remember the first article I posted reporting that they are going to check ms office 2007 first and if they find that it is pirated, that they are going to delete that and whatever else that they want. they will delete other stuff too, just to teach you a lesson. they left a gaping hole in vista just so they can come in when they want.

so yes it is safe to use vista and pirated software for now. but watch out for later. they just came out with vista. they would never implement it on vista beta or longhorn for obvious above reasons
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 02:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: Vista detects illegal software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Windows Vista allows you to isntall anything. It is the software that will detect if it is illegal or not. It will have activation methods on it such as Windows does. Alcohol 120% has it as well. Where you have to activate it to run it. Adobe has it with CS2. Those are program specific. Not OS specific.
Yes, as I exactly think, I have some Illegal software, but Vista did not identify them.
__________________
Mike from Greece, 16

mssssee2 is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 05:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Vista detects illegal software?

Why would MS want to detect illegal software? It's not like they are gonna sell more copies of their OS or anything.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista speech recognition mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-27-2007 09:57 AM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM
Software issues Nokia N70 and Vista???? cub1971 Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 2 04-11-2007 09:04 AM
do i need to back up tablet specific drivers when upgrading from vista RC2 to vista rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-05-2007 05:05 AM
Vista & my Wireless Network motoxer4533 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-31-2007 08:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.