vista deleting files? my 8 year old brother got trojans?

Status
Not open for further replies.

briannaplaysbassyea

Solid State Member
does it?

because my computer is now missing several files i haven't used for awhile. this is fairly concerning, because now i use chrome predominately instead of firefox. and then firefox... just got deleted off my computer one day ??

WHY??

and then well, i am an on and off writer. and i was thinking about starting somewhat fresh on a story i was writing, went to the folder i knew it was in... gone... just gone! and i know the file name, so i searched it in the harddrive (as well as the recycle bin just in case) and its just gone... poof.

sure i hadn't touched it... but those files usually stay on there for awhile... why do they just disappear? do i have some setting that deletes files i haven't updated in awhile?

its kinda sad for me, because i don't remember what i wrote. but it was a decent start to what i was writing. and intros are hard for me... and now it's gone... ehh!?!

this week (starting from last wednesday) has been technologically abusive for me. my brothers computer download shizz loads of trojans. and i'm the nerd in the family so i had to sit there all day to try to fix it. but i got ten bucks extra in my allowance :D

so i'm at my wits end with technology!

Chrome is not secure. It uses a outdated version of WebKit to render sites which has flaws in it that are open to attack. So it could very well be that your PC got infected.

Vista doesnt delete files unless strictly told to do so.

So unless someone accessed your PC and told them to delete those files and that program you have been infected as well.

If you run a home network it could very well be that your brothers computer transmitted it to every PC on the network. Some viruses/trojans do that.

You could also try a data restore program to get your files back before you fix your current problem.