Vista defragmenter - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2007, 12:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Vista defragmenter

I'm sure those that have Vista have used the Defragment Utiltiy already. Have you noticed how "dumbed" down it looks compared to XP and Windows 98? For me, I like to be in control and see the time lapse, the little bars move, or something visual to see just how fragmented my HDD really is.

It's like what my corowker told me: "My PC have been working on this **** defragmentation for 4 hours now.... and I have no clue, what so ever, when it will be done!!"

I suppose from a programmer's point of view, it's not that difficult to throw a progress bar in.

However I do like how the disks get defragged at low CPU priority and uses low priority I/O. This in turn, helps to ensure minimal impact and high responsiveness for the rest of the system. This is a big change from XP where the system was more or less unusable when defrag was running. Remember how slow that was and how we were'nt allowed to do anything when undergoing defrag?

I just thought I rant a little on this since I've been running this defragmenter for over 8 hours now!!!!! When will it stop? I need a sign.
__________________

__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 03:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Vista defragmenter

I just use O&O defrag. I like it a lot better than the windows versions

you got a corolla?

I got an XRS.
__________________

UA_Iron is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 04:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Vista defragmenter

I use Diskeeper.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 04:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Vista defragmenter

Ashampoo Magical Defrag is the best, IMO....as it does constantly in the background so all your drives are always defragged
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 04:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Vista defragmenter

Does it take up resources?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 04:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Vista defragmenter

I've never seen it use more than 5mb of RAM and it only defrags when that disk isn't being used.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 04:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Vista defragmenter

hey peeps, can you test this for me?
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 04:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default Re: Vista defragmenter

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
I've never seen it use more than 5mb of RAM and it only defrags when that disk isn't being used.
used alot of ashampoo software, didnt know the defragger had that feature might check it out.
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 05:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Vista defragmenter

Diskeeper also does auto defrag.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 06:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Default Re: Vista defragmenter

i was disappointed by the built in vista defragger and i tried auslogics disk defrag. its free and extremely fast and doesnt run in the background, just when you want it to. Disk Defrag - Reclaim the Speed Of Your Disks
__________________

__________________
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista Transformation Pack 7.0 Released Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 11 06-27-2007 10:48 PM
Linux and Vista dual-boot Mike9182 Linux and Open Source 1 06-26-2007 07:53 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.