Vista Build 5231 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2005, 10:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Tyler this is for Manual install.
Manual Driver Installation

Manual installation of device drivers may be necessary if drivers are not successfully installed by running setup in XP Compatibility Mode. This is accomplished from Device Manager (right click Computer>Manage), by right clicking on the device>Update Driver>No, not this time>Next>Install from a specific location (Advanced)>Next>Include this location in the search>Browse ¬Ė to the location containing the required drivers. It is necessary to extract the .inf, .sys and .cat driver files to a folder using a tool such as WinRar before you can manually install your drivers in this way.


Also, if you have an XP install on another partition you can use the above method and browse to that partition's Windows/inf directory to locate the inf file (make sure you have show hidden and system files enabled in explorer to see this directory). As the install progresses you may be asked to locate other needed files which are usually found in that partition's Windows/System32 folder, or the Windows/System32/drivers folder.

As for the pester i dont think so. Creative already siad they are not worried about Vista and will not make drivers for it until it is released. At this point in time the only 2 compaines that i can think of off hand that has done anything for Vista is ATI and nVidia.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 11:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

the new vista sucks. it also include Media Center Edition (yippee) on it, but it don't work right either. WTF is that install (they have a name) BS that come up when you try to install something?

I forced my Realtek driver on it using the cd from this method

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=65989
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 11:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
the new vista sucks. it also include Media Center Edition (yippee) on it, but it don't work right either. WTF is that install (they have a name) BS that come up when you try to install something?

I forced my Realtek driver on it
You must be talking abou tthe new Installer on Vista. It does suck dont it. I forgot the technical term but i am beta testing the XP version of Installer 6.2 which does almost the same thing.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 11:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
You must be talking abou tthe new Installer on Vista. It does suck dont it. I forgot the technical term but i am beta testing the XP version of Installer 6.2 which does almost the same thing.
it's called the build and setup tally program (it's more obvious in another account as it come up everytime you install a program or put a data cd in) and there is no use for it.

don't you dare create another account beside the original administator one or you will lose almost all of your priviledges even if you set it to administrator (it's a more advance form of a limited account) and you can't delete it either

MCE just locks up and the new vista won't let you install a lot of programs (some of the file will refuse to register)

my pq boot (of partition magic) for windows (it what I use to boot back to xp) don't work in my Account name as admininstrator, but it work in the regular administrator account

WMP 11 just looks better. it is suppose to let your stream from other computers, but any program can do that. it does nothing else extra and you can't install the codec lite pack to help it play different formats. plus wmp 11 will alway send you info back to MS as you can't uncheck that option (it's greyed out)

the last build of vista is way better. at least it tries to work
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 10:35 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Um Eric the "Ultimate" Edition of Vista includes Media Center Edition features and software it's just not called Media Center.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 01:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Man I need to hire me a typist. my updated version

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
You must be talking abou tthe new Installer on Vista. It does suck dont it. I forgot the technical term but i am beta testing the XP version of Installer 6.2 which does almost the same thing.
it's called the build and setup tally program (it's more obvious in another account as it come up everytime you install a program or put a data cd in) and there is no use for it.

don't you dare create another account beside the original administator one or you will lose almost all of your priviledges even if you set it to administrator (it's a more advance form of a limited account) and you can't delete it either

MCE just locks up and the new vista won't let you install a lot of programs (some of the file will refuse to register)

my pq boot (of partition magic) for windows (it what I use to boot back to xp) don't work in my Account name as admininstrator, but it work in the regular administrator account

WMP 11 just looks better. it is suppose to let your stream from other computers, but any program can do that. it does nothing else extra and you can't install the codec lite pack to help it play different formats. plus wmp 11 will alway send you info back to MS as you can't uncheck that option (it's greyed out)
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 04:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
Man I need to hire me a typist. my updated version



it's called the build and setup tally program (it's more obvious in another account as it come up everytime you install a program or put a data cd in) and there is no use for it.

don't you dare create another account beside the original administator one or you will lose almost all of your priviledges even if you set it to administrator (it's a more advance form of a limited account) and you can't delete it either

MCE just locks up and the new vista won't let you install a lot of programs (some of the file will refuse to register)

my pq boot (of partition magic) for windows (it what I use to boot back to xp) don't work in my Account name as admininstrator, but it work in the regular administrator account

WMP 11 just looks better. it is suppose to let your stream from other computers, but any program can do that. it does nothing else extra and you can't install the codec lite pack to help it play different formats. plus wmp 11 will alway send you info back to MS as you can't uncheck that option (it's greyed out)
Well i wouldnt suggest creating another account on Vista in the first place. I actually limit the machine from creating accounts by disabling some services that aloow for multiple user login's.
MCE is kinda buggy from what i have seen. It worked decently in 5219 but 5231 it is chit. Trying to throw so much in this monthly build they took a step backward instead of forward.
WMP11 didnt work for me at first i had to reinstall. But thne it worked for aobut an hour then crashed Explorer.exe 5 times in 20 minutes. As i have stated this is very buggy. They tried to get MCE, WMP11 and IE7 all working in tandem wioth Vista and they failed so far. They will step it up for Beta 2 and the Nov build but for now 5219 is the better build until the IDX comes out either this wekend or next week.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 06:01 PM   #18 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I don't know MCE was in the last build. I'm going to reinstall it.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 07:29 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Eric Media Center Editions don't exist anymore all MCE features and software are now included in the Ultimate Edition of Vista as well as a few below that.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 07:47 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

kool i downloaded 5129 i think it was and its cool cant wait for it to be offical
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.