Vista boot probs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2008, 08:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
j3wcl@w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 99
Question Vista boot probs

Hi good one for you guys here i have installed vista 64 bit onto a seprate drive to xp when the install was finished i obviously took the cd out and when i try to set boot priority to the drive that vista is installed to i get "boot failure insert system disk and press enter" but when i insert the dvd and set priority to that and when i dont press a key when i am prompted da daaaa it boots from my hard drive but take dvd out disk boot failure hmmmmmmmmmmm
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake armour LCS Watercooled
Asus P5N32-SLI Mobo
Intel Core2 quad Extreme Q6600 OC'd to (4x3.00 )
Ati Powercolour Hd 4870 1048mb
4GB OCZ DDR2 800 MHZ
X3 Western Digital raptor's 80gb 10,000 Rpm
Enermax 1000W Galaxy
Saitek Cyborg Keyboard
Logitech G9 lazer mouse
Windows Vista ultimate 64 bit
j3wcl@w is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 08:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista boot probs

Insert the Vista DVD and repair the bootloader.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 11:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Vista boot probs

Hello,

Have you tried setting boot priority to the Windows XP hard drive and booting from that drive? Try it without the disc in the CD drive. Perhaps the new MBR is written on the first drive.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 01:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista boot probs

Alvin only issue with that is that Vista does not use the boot.ini, NTLDR or the NTDETECT files to boot with. So by doing this he would in essance eliminate his Vista boot.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 01:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Vista boot probs

SATA or PATA drives?
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 01:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista boot probs

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
SATA or PATA drives?
I am sorry what? The drives being used should not matter. The only thing i can say is that i do know that using PATA for one and SATA for the other always seems to make a mess of things.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 02:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Vista boot probs

Well if he somehow has a drive on a PATA cable that is a slave, its not going to let him boot to it
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 02:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista boot probs

It6 should let him still boot if it is a slave drive. If it is the active system drive or not is the main concern.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
500gig externaal usb HD ziceman Microsoft Windows and Software 6 03-13-2008 01:24 AM
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
Vista Dual Boot robert-12-21 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 10-23-2007 11:07 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.