Vista already being replaced? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2008, 09:44 AM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista already being replaced?

That is the truth. Microsoft isnt forcing anyone to upgrade. Read the articles about how DX10 is years away from making a true impact.

Granted there are games and hardware out there now but you dont HAVE to do it. You CHOOSE to do it.

Only reason why i upgraded? Well first i had a pirated version...but then i got full legit copies for free. So why not upgrade then?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 09:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Vista already being replaced?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak
Only reason why i upgraded? Well first i had a pirated version...but then i got full legit copies for free. So why not upgrade then?
Exactly (the second part, not the first). If it doesn't cost you anything, it isn't a problem.

I bought XP, and I have gotten my money's worth out of it. But I cannot see shelling out the serious kind of cash Vista costs for what little difference there is between it and XP. I have been one of those harping about how crappy Vista is, but it's really not. It had some troubles at first (and still does on old equipment and programs), but it has really matured. It is made for new stuff, not old stuff.

Actually, I hope Windows 7 cuts loose most of the backward compatability crap. Why bring forward all of the holes from every version of Windows? Start with a clean slate and go with it. No need to go any farther back that XP, if even that. Well, it would have to go back that far to capture any part of the businesss sector as businesses can't afford to start from scratch at the drop of a hat.

I will wait and see what 7 brings. I think we may be a little surprised by it before it is done.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:26 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Vista already being replaced?

The only reason why i didnt upgrade to Vista was because i wanted to have something i knew i could trust because atm of my build vista was still taking its first steps and triping up. I also droped Linux because it wasnt supported in all catagories yet such as youtube vids, flash games, if linux had good support in those areas well i'd probably be full Linux.

I plan to build after the next couple years, so i see Windows 7 in my future
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:30 AM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Vista already being replaced?

Hopefully MS will work more closely with hardware vendors to get drivers up at least by the launch of 7. That was the biggest hurdle of Vista, the lack of driver availablity. What good was it to have brand new hardware when there wasn't drivers for the OS to use it?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:35 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Vista already being replaced?

I heard some hype from another forum i hang around that in 7 they would be ditching the old M$ paint program and replace it with a totally different kind of layout and options for the new program.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:45 AM   #16 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Vista already being replaced?

I haven't heard much on it, other than it may (rumor) take a page from Linux as far as modules go. I doubt it, but it would be nice.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 11:16 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Vista already being replaced?

Omfg not paint!
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 12:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Vista already being replaced?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redmo0n View Post
Omfg not paint!
No need to fret Redmoon its just a rumor that doesn't mean its true.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 01:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Vista already being replaced?

Quote:
No need to fret Redmoon its just a rumor that doesn't mean its true.
Oh thank god.

I rang a bunch of friends up and we where really in panic. A few of them where crying and we where really worried. Ill go tell them that we still have a chance to keep it
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 01:15 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Vista already being replaced?

I highly doubt this rumor's accuracy
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
Microsoft offers a Vista two-for deal Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 8 01-01-2008 04:17 PM
No More Vista Recuded Functionality Mode. Harper Microsoft Windows and Software 7 12-06-2007 09:53 AM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.