Vista 64-bit and Intel CPUs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2008, 06:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Default Vista 64-bit and Intel CPUs

I tried looking it up but I can't find the info I'm looking for.

Is it true that in order to use Vista 64-bit with an Intel CPU, you need a motherboard with certain Intel chipsets ?

For example, a Nvidia chipset with an Intel CPU wouldn't be 64-bit compatible.

Can anyone enlighten me ?

Thanks !
__________________

Cluelessnewbie is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 07:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Vista 64-bit and Intel CPUs

Nah, thats not true, maybe you're thinking of Drivers? You need 64bit Drivers for things to work with 64bit

but you only need a 64bit CPU (Athlon64 and Up and Intel Pentium 4 HT and up)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Vista 64-bit and Intel CPUs

Thanks for the quick reply. However, no I wasn't thinking of drivers. I remember seeing something on Intel's maze of a website that said that 64-bit OS would only work if Intel chipsets were used in conjunction with an Intel CPU. Maybe Ive read it wrong but either way I can't find it anymore.
Cluelessnewbie is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 07:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Vista 64-bit and Intel CPUs

Nah thats far from true

plenty of people here use nVidia and ATi chipsets with 64bit Vista/XP (with Intel)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 08:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista 64-bit and Intel CPUs

This is utterly untrue. You can use a Intel CPU with a nvidia chipset or a Intel chipset and run 64 Bit. You can run 64 Bit on any system that is 64 Bit enabled. Doesnt matter what the chipset is as long as you have 64 Bit enabled.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 08:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Vista 64-bit and Intel CPUs

Since when was a P4 HT 64bit???
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 09:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista 64-bit and Intel CPUs

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles_scott View Post
Since when was a P4 HT 64bit???
There is a generation of P4's out there with HT and the EM64 Bit technology.

IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 Processor Product Information

Not all of them have it. I know mine doesn't. But some do.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Vista 32 bit vs 64 bit Mandingo Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 02-22-2008 11:41 PM
neweggs pricing on intel cpus... mark1413 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 01-22-2008 03:14 PM
Intel Beats AMD to Lead-Free Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-24-2007 03:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.