Vista 32 v 64 bit ?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2007, 07:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default Vista 32 v 64 bit ??

I am going to be upgrading to vista purely for gaming. I'll keep xp on the comp I do work on. My question is, what is the difference between 32 and 64 bit in terms of gaming? I know I will probably go with home premium because that has the features I want, but I don't know whether to get 64 or 32 bit. Thank you for the advice.
__________________

__________________
EVGA 680i
C2 Q6600 @3.6
2- 1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1000(1100 @5-5-5-12 2.2v)
2 EVGA 280GTX in sli
2 WD Raptor 74GB(RAID0)
1 WD Raptor 150GB
X-FI Fatal1ty Edition (Beyerdynamic DT770/80 with PA2v2 amp)
PC P&C 1 Kilowatt PSU
Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD
LG 18x DVD/CD RW
Silverstone TJ09 (5-120mm Sythe S-Flex fans)-Best case on the planet...
Watercooled. Iwaki MD20RLT>PA120.3(6 fan push/pull)>Apogee GT>2 MCW60's>T-line
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I recommend 32-bit. So much more support for drivers and programs.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 05:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

yeah but for how long. I think anyone who's got a 64bit processor and gets vista 32bit must be mad.
atopork is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 05:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by atopork
yeah but for how long. I think anyone who's got a 64bit processor and gets vista 32bit must be mad.
64 bit wont even be fully used for 2 years or more maybe not even until the next OS is out.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 06:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
64 bit wont even be fully used for 2 years or more maybe not even until the next OS is out.
What with all the 64bit processors out today. Sorry i can't see that.
atopork is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 06:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

there's a difference between hardware supporting 64 bit and corporate company's actually making drivers and software to use it. It costs money and how many average users would have 64 bit? very few so for now the majority of users have 32 bit so company's are slow to take up 64 bit.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 07:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

I bet you could ask in any computer shop in your area what the percentage of computers that they have sold in the last 12 months were either 32bit or 64bitand I would bet you that the 64bit would be the most.
atopork is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 07:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

I agree they would, that still doesn't matter no driver support, no game support and software isn't written for it. As usual as hardware progresses at pace the software industry fails to keep up. It will be awhile off before 64 bit is taken up whether you like it or not .
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 07:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

oh well its up to you but ive been using windows xp 64bit for the last 8 months with no problems and all my games play without a problem like Battlefield 2 and Battlefield 2142 i'm sure i will be getting the 64bit one
atopork is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 08:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Well if your one of the lucky few to have full driver support then so be it .Id use 64 bit if i had drivers for my wireless network but belkin are lazy and even replied to me saying they do not know when they will have 64 bit or vista drivers...lovely.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.